nunchukamember
2 posts

Posted:
i have been knunchuking for almost 13 years, a few years ago i saw this dude on the roof of my dorm twirling bits of fire, naturally i was intriged. i asked if i could try and he started to hand them to me and instruct me in the process of the basics. without hesitation i began knunchuking (hence forth "chukin" or "chuks" etc) he took a step back and said have you swung poi before? i said whats poi. he inducted me on the spot into his troupe of fire dancers called the fire monkeys. thats when i noticed he had a staff with wick on the ends. since his staff and my chuks are the exact same diameter i saw no reason why i couldnt wrap my chuks. and a new art was born.... i think, the other monkeys were quite impressed with the display of four points of light instead of two. infact because of the remarkable similarities in the two arts they were able to learn in minutes what took me years to perfect. by no means were they going to give up poi just add to their skills, as did i. my teacher and friend fuzzy scott said i learned basic poi in nothing flat and some more complex stuff in days... well any way thats the story of my begining so here's my question, have any one on this bb ever seen another fire chuker and if you say berkeley california... that was me!!! as far as i know i am the only one.

ps i like typing poi, its so easy poipoipoipoipoipoipoipoipoipoipoipoipoipoipoi

DeepSoulSheepGOLD Member
Carpal \'Tunnel
2,617 posts

Posted:
I've not seen it no. Most people are aware that there is a cross over of skills and physics though. On Col 2 DJ Dantana uses nun-chuckas.

Several people tie different colour glow sticks on both ends of string and use nunchuka moves to swap between the 2 colours.

There are several other weapons whose physics are similar to poi and staff such as meteor, rope dart, swords and other mad stuff I don't know about....like whips and 3 piece staffs and stuff.