• All Purchases made this month instantly go into the draw to win a USD $ 100.00 credit to your HoP account.

Forums > Social Chat > Regular \'ball\' shaped poi compared to the \'ninja\' type

Login/Join to Participate
Page: 12
Posted:Hi everyone

I have been having problems with some LED Poi that I have - they are the traditional 'ball' shape, I am going to buy these

http://www.homeofpoi.com/shop/productDetails/Pair-of-Stealth-Ninja-V3-LED-Poi-with-Cole-Cords
br>
I guess My question is does the difference in shape make a difference to the technique you have to use? i.e because they are longer are they easier to kinda mess up with and hit yourself?

I am only a beginner so I am a bit worried about this!

Thanks in advance!

Delete Topic

beaniebob
GOLD Member since Nov 2010

casually noob tech poi spinrar

Total posts: 155
Posted:Nothing wrong with ninja poi, really. Personally I don't like them because they're a little long, and the weight distribution makes stalls with them more prone to wobbling. This sort of wobble is pretty much a general thing that happens with non-spherical poi (but I find it happens less with flowlights, imo.)

That said, round poi are awesomesauce. If you don't mind forking out extra cash, I'd say get podpoi. Otherwise I'd still recommend flowlights (but with crystal cases or the 1L tubes and some flowmass, because they're pretty light otherwise).

Finally, what sort of problems are you having with your current LED poi? Too light? Not enough room between your arms?

EDIT: Nvm, saw your other thread. That's most likely just crappy circuitry/loose battery contacts. Also, given that those sorts of poi are insanely light, I can say that the ninja poi will feel much heavier and slower in comparison. Flowlights on their own will be similar in weight, but with flowlights you really do want them inside one of the cases.

EDITED_BY: beaniebob (1367110782)

"If all else fails, immortality can always be assured by spectacular error."

Delete