• All Purchases made this month instantly go into the draw to win a USD $ 200.00 credit to your HoP account.
 

Forums > Help! > Flowmass - how many?

Login/Join to Participate

Magic tortise
stranger

Member Since: 17th Nov 2010
Total posts: 8
Posted:So i bought a pair of crystal case flowpoi and they are way to light, is one flowmass per poi enough? how much do they actuly weigh?

i dont want to order just 2 then find out they are still to light then have to order another 2.

on anther note with the crystal cases at the bottom where you slide the flowpoi in it stays open, im worried they will fly out while im spinning xD so do they just not fly out even though its wide open or what?



SpinnerofDetroit
SpinnerofDetroit

All High Dude, Ruler of What You Want
Location: Trenton, MI, USA
Member Since: 25th Oct 2009
Total posts: 2280
Posted:You have the cases on upside down xD And I use 2 masses, but I like my poi really heavy. It's really personal preference.

The only luck is bad luck.

Shut up before I stall my poi up your ass grin


willow2x
willow2x

KeepTheWorldSpinning Originator
Location: Scarborough, UK
Member Since: 27th Dec 2005
Total posts: 49
Posted:they weigh 30g each, its all on the flowtoys site.

weight of single crystal poi head w/ flowlight=65g
weight of crystal poi w/ light and mass=95g
weight of crystal poi w/ light and double mass=125g

how to apply flowmass,
http://flowtoys.com/pages.php?pageid=31#mass
br>
your flowlight unit fits into the TOP of the crystal case, meaning the slit is at the top where your leash fits...




really noobie, do your research ;P
im sure it even tells you the weights on here aswell =S


KeepTheWorldSpinning with me =]


Magic tortise
stranger

Member Since: 17th Nov 2010
Total posts: 8
Posted:Originally Posted By: SpinnerofDetroitYou have the cases on upside down xD And I use 2 masses, but I like my poi really heavy. It's really personal preference.

i thought this at first too, but the ring wont fit around that end :S seriously, maybe they gave me differnt cords than they usly give out :|

i guess ill just get two : \

EDITED_BY: Raman_Hall (1292039870)



Jameth
Jameth

enthusiast
Location: NSW
Member Since: 19th May 2008
Total posts: 378
Posted:You do have the cases 'round the wrong way - I can't get a quicklink or split ring on my crystal poi, I just use a double length of colecord and loop it through both sections of the case. Of course I have to take it off each time I change batteries, but it only takes a few seconds.

I'm fairly sure that if you spin with the open end down and not tied shut sooner or later your lights will fly out at a fair speed.

wrt mass - I would like 2 but I find it too hard to turn the lights on and change modes though the mass (my thumb nails were getting bruised from pressing one over the other) so I just use one, I slid it down to the middle.

Once the mass is on the case you can leave it there because you can get the lights in and out of the case with it in place.



Midkiff
shadow stranger
Location: Carmi, Illinois
Member Since: 29th Nov 2009
Total posts: 462
Posted:well with the 2 masses on i tied a cut shoe string to the actual flowlight as for easier removal

"Is God willing to prevent evil, but not able? Then he is not omnipotent. Is he able, but not willing? Then he is malevolent. Is he both able, and willing? Then whence cometh evil? Is he neither able nor willing? Then why call him God?" - Epicurus


Jameth
Jameth

enthusiast
Location: NSW
Member Since: 19th May 2008
Total posts: 378
Posted:I've tied a length of 1mm leather cord (as used for beading) on 'round one of the tail loops, for the same purpose.

I tried an O ring as flowtoys suggest, a plain old black Oz rather than one of their snazzy white ones, but it tended to come undone.

The black leather is fine enough not to interfere with linking them if you want to make a duo or a staff. smile



Magic tortise
stranger

Member Since: 17th Nov 2010
Total posts: 8
Posted:Originally Posted By: Jamethwrt mass - I would like 2 but I find it too hard to turn the lights on and change modes though the mass (my thumb nails were getting bruised from pressing one over the other) so I just use one, I slid it down to the middle.


so one flowmass is heavy enough to do everything?



Mother_Natures_Son
Mother_Natures_Son

Rampant whirler.
Location: Geelong, Victoria, Australia!
Member Since: 1st Aug 2007
Total posts: 2418
Posted:Raman... weigh your poi heads, choose the rig based on the raw weight. If your poi heads are 150g use two.

If yours is closer to 100, use one.


hug


Jameth
Jameth

enthusiast
Location: NSW
Member Since: 19th May 2008
Total posts: 378
Posted:Originally Posted By: Magic tortiseso one flowmass is heavy enough to do everything?


Define "everything".

It's the best compromise for me. Most peeps on here are male, if that's the case you're probably a fair bit stronger than I, in which case I'd go for 2. They're not that expensive, if you don't use them on your poi you can throw them at people for giving cheek. tongue2



Mother_Natures_Son
Mother_Natures_Son

Rampant whirler.
Location: Geelong, Victoria, Australia!
Member Since: 1st Aug 2007
Total posts: 2418
Posted:Weigh...your...most...comfortable...practice...heads.

hug


Sister Eleven
Sister Eleven

owner of the group property
Location: Seattle, WA
Member Since: 3rd Aug 2009
Total posts: 1277
Posted:I would go with what MNS here says. If you don't want to do that, the next best formula is to buy four masses, and if double mass is too heavy, go down to one mass. You can take the extra masses you don't need and mail them to me.

p|.q|r:|::s|.s|s:|:.s|q.|:p|s.|.p|s


Magic tortise
stranger

Member Since: 17th Nov 2010
Total posts: 8
Posted:Originally Posted By: Mother_Natures_SonWeigh...your...most...comfortable...practice...heads.



dont have any confortable heads, all i got it my fire poi and i dont wonna practice with them so i dont ruin them.... :-)

thanks everyone i'll just get 4



Mother_Natures_Son
Mother_Natures_Son

Rampant whirler.
Location: Geelong, Victoria, Australia!
Member Since: 1st Aug 2007
Total posts: 2418
Posted:o.O Rice. Balloons. Knee high socks.

Try out the different weights that the rig above offers if you like.

Its best to have a practice set that isn't fire or glowy, so you can take it down to the beach, into the water, onto sand or just will generally take a beating when you're learning something new.


hug


meshunderlay
meshunderlay

Juggler/Spinner
Location: Hicksville, New York, USA
Member Since: 15th Sep 2008
Total posts: 612
Posted:3 pairs of socks: $3
Juggling balls as weights: Free
Hitting yourself in the manbits learning inversions: Priceless

Seriously though, MNS knows what's good. ^_^
Try out a few different weights, and make some good practice poi, before spending too much money.



Magic tortise
stranger

Member Since: 17th Nov 2010
Total posts: 8
Posted:yea i had socks at one point but they were just crappy and i live half hour out of town so i never really get the chance to buy stuff to make good ones


Magic tortise
stranger

Member Since: 17th Nov 2010
Total posts: 8
Posted:Originally Posted By: meshunderlay3 pairs of socks: $3
Juggling balls as weights: Free
Hitting yourself in the manbits learning inversions: Priceless

Seriously though, MNS knows what's good. ^_^
Try out a few different weights, and make some good practice poi, before spending too much money.

why are juggling balls free?



meshunderlay
meshunderlay

Juggler/Spinner
Location: Hicksville, New York, USA
Member Since: 15th Sep 2008
Total posts: 612
Posted:Well, free as in I've had them for years, as I'm a juggler, so for me, using those as weights is "free" as compared to buying rice or something else now.


aston
aston

Unofficial Chairperson of Squirrel Defense League
Location: South Africa
Member Since: 2nd Dec 2007
Total posts: 4061
Posted:Jameth: In theory you could cut them and get an intermediate weight if you want a bit more weight than one gives you. Just a thought.

'We're all mad here. I'm mad, you're mad." [said the Cat.]
"How do you know I'm mad?" said Alice.
"You must be," said the Cat, "Or you wouldn't have come here."
- Lewis Carroll, Alice's Adventures In Wonderland


Mother_Natures_Son
Mother_Natures_Son

Rampant whirler.
Location: Geelong, Victoria, Australia!
Member Since: 1st Aug 2007
Total posts: 2418
Posted:Cutting things? Thats effort!

hug


aston
aston

Unofficial Chairperson of Squirrel Defense League
Location: South Africa
Member Since: 2nd Dec 2007
Total posts: 4061
Posted:Lazy hippy. tongue2

'We're all mad here. I'm mad, you're mad." [said the Cat.]
"How do you know I'm mad?" said Alice.
"You must be," said the Cat, "Or you wouldn't have come here."
- Lewis Carroll, Alice's Adventures In Wonderland


Mother_Natures_Son
Mother_Natures_Son

Rampant whirler.
Location: Geelong, Victoria, Australia!
Member Since: 1st Aug 2007
Total posts: 2418
Posted:I'll lazy YOUR hippie... later.

hug


Jameth
Jameth

enthusiast
Location: NSW
Member Since: 19th May 2008
Total posts: 378
Posted:*dodges lazing hippies*

@ aston: an excellent suggestion, I'll give it a go.



Magic tortise
stranger

Member Since: 17th Nov 2010
Total posts: 8
Posted:Originally Posted By: astonJameth: In theory you could cut them and get an intermediate weight if you want a bit more weight than one gives you. Just a thought.

yea but im not worried about 2 being too much just one being not enough



Mother_Natures_Son
Mother_Natures_Son

Rampant whirler.
Location: Geelong, Victoria, Australia!
Member Since: 1st Aug 2007
Total posts: 2418
Posted:Originally Posted By: Magic tortiseOriginally Posted By: astonJameth: In theory you could cut them and get an intermediate weight if you want a bit more weight than one gives you. Just a thought.

yea but im not worried about 2 being too much just one being not enough


If thats the case... the choice is rather clear.


hug


JaredW
JaredW

enthusiast
Location: Flying south for the winter.
Member Since: 26th Oct 2009
Total posts: 375
Posted:I use double mass on mine, and the top set of mass are cut in half.
Rarely do I use 1.5 mass, but it does make them stretch just a bit, so it's easier to pull the lights out.
If you still have trouble, use another Flowlight. Snap it into the one in the case, and pull it straight out.



Magic tortise
stranger

Member Since: 17th Nov 2010
Total posts: 8
Posted:Originally Posted By: Mother_Natures_SonOriginally Posted By: Magic tortiseOriginally Posted By: astonJameth: In theory you could cut them and get an intermediate weight if you want a bit more weight than one gives you. Just a thought.

yea but im not worried about 2 being too much just one being not enough


If thats the case... the choice is rather clear.

its been clear for a while but people keep posting here xD



aston
aston

Unofficial Chairperson of Squirrel Defense League
Location: South Africa
Member Since: 2nd Dec 2007
Total posts: 4061
Posted:Originally Posted By: Mother_Natures_SonI'll lazy YOUR hippie... later.

That sounds like a threat....

grin


'We're all mad here. I'm mad, you're mad." [said the Cat.]
"How do you know I'm mad?" said Alice.
"You must be," said the Cat, "Or you wouldn't have come here."
- Lewis Carroll, Alice's Adventures In Wonderland



Similar Topics

Using the keywords [flowmas*] we found the following similar topics.
1. Forums > Weight Sleeves vs. Flowmass [7 replies]
2. Forums > Flowmass - how many? [27 replies]
3. Forums > Flowmass [1 reply]
4. Forums > my experience with flowtoys customer service [7 replies]
5. Forums > Fire or Glow [3 replies]

     Show more..