• All Purchases made this month instantly go into the draw to win a USD $ 100.00 credit to your HoP account.
 

Forums > Help! > A favourite computer game lost! May need separate OS!

Login/Join to Participate

PyroWill
GOLD Member since Aug 2004

PyroWill

HoP's Barman. Trapped aged 6 months
Location: Staines, United Kingdom

Total posts: 4437
Posted:Hi

Once again slight copmputer matter!

Geek mode on, possibly the best star trek game ever, Star Trek Generations, for the PC. However it seems to not work on anything beyond Windows 98. I'm currently running Windows XP Pro, I've searched everywhere for patches but there doesn't seem to be one. It can be installed but once you try to run it there a 'game has encountered error and has to close' typical!

Does anyone have any ideas. I've even thought about installinga separate OS of 98, but haven't really a clue how to do that, and yes it's worth it lol

Any thoughts?


An eye for an eye only ends up making the whole world blind

Give a man a fish and he'll eat 4 a day hit a man with a brick and you can have all his fish and his wife

"Will's to pretty for prison" - Simian

Delete Topic

Zenooph
SILVER Member since Aug 2006

Zenooph

psychadelic pyro
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa

Total posts: 570
Posted:Have you thought of running it in Compatibility mode in XP?

When you right click on the icon and go to properties and then click on the compatibility tab you should be able to run it in 98 compatibility mode.

Don't know if it will work, but it's worth a try.


Normality is the playground of the unimaginative

Delete

Bubbles_
SILVER Member since Nov 2004

Bubbles_

Carpal \'Tunnel
Location: mancunian, United Kingdom

Total posts: 3383
Posted:ubblol

star trek! i think i have that game buried somewhere in my room biggrin


Disclaimer:im not responsible for what i say or do whether it be before,during and after drinking alcoholic substances (owned by BMVC).
Creater of Jenisms(TM)
Virginity like bubble,one prick all gone.

Delete

Mr_Chutney
SILVER Member since Apr 2003

Mr_Chutney

Tosser
Location: Herefordshire, England (UK)

Total posts: 1711
Posted:HAHAHAHAHA

I have this somwhere- I seem to remember I finished it n'all.

Yeah- compatibility more sounds like a good start Will, alternatively you might find some sort of emulator? (Windows to windows emulation... well if it works for Macs I spose).


Delete

Cody
SILVER Member since Sep 2003

Cody

That guy from Reno
Location: Reno, Nevada USA

Total posts: 556
Posted:If that doesn't work try downloading it from one of the free download sites. I got X-Comm and Masters of Orion both teh origonals that way and they were "converted" if you will to run on Windows XP. But now I only play WOW.

Cody Canon
Controlled Burn, Reno Nevada

Delete

polarity
SILVER Member since May 2005

polarity

veteran
Location: on the wrong planet, United Ki...

Total posts: 1228
Posted:I still run DOS for the games that only run under it, and I've got an Acorn Electron for Chuckie Egg and Magic Mushroom biggrin

You can probably get an old hard drive for pennies on ebay (or nothing on freecycle), as you only need about 4gb for windows and a couple of games. Saves risking your main hard drive trying to install 2 copies of windows onto it.


Not Star Trek - A Final Unity, is it?


You aren't thinking or really existing unless you're willing to risk even your own sanity in the judgment of your existence.

Green peppers, lime pickle and whole-grain mustard = best sandwich filling.

Delete

MikefromGlos
SILVER Member since Jul 2006

MikefromGlos

Hitman
Location: Gloucester England

Total posts: 985
Posted:I was planning on installing vista on a secondary hardrive and xp on another so that i can run halo 2 even though i am wary of the security flaws of vista it seems the only way to get around the problem.

Just wondering what would happen with the file sharing compatability if i wanted to transfer a document from one hardrive to another because NTFS (Sorry slightly drunk but i mean the file system of windows 2000) might be differant to say Vista as back when it was being devloped under longhorn as its name they where going to bring in a new file thingy so if this is the case the there would be a script somwhere that would be the base for it. If this code for some reason became active as yes i do muck around with os envioments and code i know i am naughty and shouldnt do it but under the windows lisence agreement its technicaly impossible to use windows at all or even install office. Back to the point i would have problems transfering though the motherboard to the windows 2000 hardrive i assume which is why i dont wanna do it at the moment.

Thank you for the load of rubbish you have just read but it makes sense to me

Mike


he he i am mike the amazing gloscircus person who is mike.

Officaly an exception to the Poi Boys are Girls Thing

Delete

PyroWill
GOLD Member since Aug 2004

PyroWill

HoP's Barman. Trapped aged 6 months
Location: Staines, United Kingdom

Total posts: 4437
Posted:Compatability mode didn't work, well it actually meant i could boot the game up but it almost imediately crashes this time.

On another online forum someone mentioned installing Mmicrosoft Virtual PC and running a different OS and said that worked. It enables multiple operating systems to run as a background to your original OS. I've installed it and selected windows 98 and it's started to boot up win 98 in a separate window yet then it says that I need to 'reboot and change boot device.'

Any ideas on that one?


An eye for an eye only ends up making the whole world blind

Give a man a fish and he'll eat 4 a day hit a man with a brick and you can have all his fish and his wife

"Will's to pretty for prison" - Simian

Delete

PyroWill
GOLD Member since Aug 2004

PyroWill

HoP's Barman. Trapped aged 6 months
Location: Staines, United Kingdom

Total posts: 4437
Posted:Getting further along, it looks like I'm going to go the path of a Virtual computer, however the last snag is, I now need a win98 install cd or ISO. Bugger

An eye for an eye only ends up making the whole world blind

Give a man a fish and he'll eat 4 a day hit a man with a brick and you can have all his fish and his wife

"Will's to pretty for prison" - Simian

Delete

mech
BRONZE Member since Jun 2003

mech

Carpal \'Tunnel
Location: "In your ear", United Kingdom

Total posts: 6207
Posted:will VPC is piece of piss, all you need is a win98 disc, or iso like you said, (which im sure i have somewhere) and of course a licence key!

what you will find however unless you are running a fairly beefie machine, running a VPC is not a great idea, you will want at least 512mb of mar for your XP system to run on, and again another 512 dedicated to the VPC itself, so a GIG in total.

I work with VPC, VMWARE and Virtual Server at work all day long, its what our test environments are built in. I would suggest these levels, to ensure that both machiens runn well together.


Step (el-nombrie)

Delete

Mr_Chutney
SILVER Member since Apr 2003

Mr_Chutney

Tosser
Location: Herefordshire, England (UK)

Total posts: 1711
Posted:I had no idea you are such a techie Step smile

Delete

mech
BRONZE Member since Jun 2003

mech

Carpal \'Tunnel
Location: "In your ear", United Kingdom

Total posts: 6207
Posted:i kind of have to be chuckney, its my job wink

VPC is easy, i was running a muck with it at uni creating all kinds of machines, and private networks inside of teh uni network in classes,


Step (el-nombrie)

Delete

Mr_Chutney
SILVER Member since Apr 2003

Mr_Chutney

Tosser
Location: Herefordshire, England (UK)

Total posts: 1711
Posted:No thats what I mean- I didn 't know that you work as a techie biggrin

Delete

mech
BRONZE Member since Jun 2003

mech

Carpal \'Tunnel
Location: "In your ear", United Kingdom

Total posts: 6207
Posted: Written by: Mr_Chutney


No thats what I mean- I didn 't know that you work as a techie biggrin



dude in the nicest possible way - your an idiot wink

i have been working professionally as a techie for three years,

got a BsC HONs Degree in computing (specialisation in project management, managing change, knowledge management, business modelling for emerging technology)

I have ciscos qualifications

Qulification in Windows Server 2000, and 2003.

Small Business server silled

i have am a 1st (i hate this role, people are always thick over the phone) 2nd (at desk) and 3rd (server) line support

I am flient in a huge array of stuff for IT including white boards and prescentations

i got 1st at uni in all my presentations, mixed mediums,

i am [censored] at coding, but i love my job, its ace smile


Step (el-nombrie)

Delete

Mr_Chutney
SILVER Member since Apr 2003

Mr_Chutney

Tosser
Location: Herefordshire, England (UK)

Total posts: 1711
Posted:Thats really cool!

I really had NO idea whatsoever. None. Nada. Zilch.

I'm getting into that whole scene myself- ever since that life hiccup last Jan I knew I needed a change and got into a small IT company in May last year and have been here ever since- lots of experience in all sorts of Service and windows based support and prep- lots of IBM server stuff in particular.

biggrin


Delete

mech
BRONZE Member since Jun 2003

mech

Carpal \'Tunnel
Location: "In your ear", United Kingdom

Total posts: 6207
Posted:coolio

you got msn running at work? if you can get it, its always god to network with other techies smile

whats teh companys name?


Step (el-nombrie)

Delete

Mr_Chutney
SILVER Member since Apr 2003

Mr_Chutney

Tosser
Location: Herefordshire, England (UK)

Total posts: 1711
Posted:MSN at work is a no-no

I'll PM you my work email and company name etc smile


Delete

Pen Draven


Pen Draven

Unofficial Lord Of Confusion And Pirate Extrodinaire
Location: Nuneaton

Total posts: 1363
Posted:Thats the beauty of being a network manager,, The firewalls here are my bitch so I can run what ever i please ubblol

Some men see things and say why....

I Dream of things that never were and say Why Not....?

Oh No I'm going to get Shot Alive if he finds out - DA wink

Delete

polarity
SILVER Member since May 2005

polarity

veteran
Location: on the wrong planet, United Ki...

Total posts: 1228
Posted:That's what Tor is for biggrin

You aren't thinking or really existing unless you're willing to risk even your own sanity in the judgment of your existence.

Green peppers, lime pickle and whole-grain mustard = best sandwich filling.

Delete

mech
BRONZE Member since Jun 2003

mech

Carpal \'Tunnel
Location: "In your ear", United Kingdom

Total posts: 6207
Posted:"network manager" in schools of industry?

hence why i have msn runnig at work, work in a small IT dept, get away with running apps you wnat smile


Step (el-nombrie)

Delete

Mr_Chutney
SILVER Member since Apr 2003

Mr_Chutney

Tosser
Location: Herefordshire, England (UK)

Total posts: 1711
Posted:Not a case of I can't- I could if I wanted to, its just not something I would do.

BTW this is all totally, utterly offtopic

Sorry Will. :S


Delete

mech
BRONZE Member since Jun 2003

mech

Carpal \'Tunnel
Location: "In your ear", United Kingdom

Total posts: 6207
Posted:ahh will dont care, i have been helping him out this morning, he is pretty much sorted

(fooking first line support, bah, its wank!)

and chuck is right, just cod you can, doesnt mean you should, i got loads of stuff i can do, none of which i do, proper channels and stuff....

smile

well done chuck, you have made me an honest man (still going to hump your leg tho) wink


Step (el-nombrie)

Delete


Similar Topics

Using the keywords [favourite computer game lost may separate o*] we found the following similar topics.
1. Forums > A favourite computer game lost! May need separate OS! [21 replies]
2. Forums > HAPPY new year! [1 reply]
3. Forums > A nice little game for all the goths [78 replies]
4. Forums > Falmouth 4 - Lost and Found [64 replies]
5. Forums > The Band Game from Radio1 [1 reply]

     Show more..