Forums > Social Chat > How long did you play Poi/Staff before you lit them/it up?

Login/Join to Participate
Page:
HatsuyukiSILVER Member
37 posts

Posted:
I am curious, how long did you play Poi or Staff before your first burn?

I am playing Poi for a few months now (or about a year) and I still feel like a total newb. I absolutely dont' feel comfortable with the idea of lighting up my Poi right now. (Even if I owned Fire Poi). I know that I want to light'em up one day, but that's still in the future.

So I want to know how long did it take you? Did you just start off and played with fire from the beginning? Or did you take your time? How did you feel about it?

Thanks for your insights! hug

I don't suffer from insanity - I enjoy every minute of it.

JerryDSILVER Member
136 posts

Posted:
I spun poi for almost a year before lighting up. And when I lit up, it was during the final night of a workshop that I took. It was a very comfortable environment, as I felt comfortable in my skills and had been trained in fire safety by two professionals with years of experience.

If you don't feel ready, by all means don't light up. There is no rush!

I was touched by His Noodly Appendage

VampyricAcidSILVER Member
veteran
1,286 posts

Posted:
i spun for 3 months before i lit up, but it was 3 months of almost nonstop spinning and i had 2 people there who had been spinning for god knows how long and were totally prepared for the worst. I also bought fire poi half way through the 2nd month so i coul get used to them. like Jerry said Light up when you like, if ever, while fire is great for spectators, i dont find it that appealing anymore, i much prefere spinning with socks or cones

Proudly Owned By The BMVC

Are You Sniffing My Mitten?

PyroMonkeyGOLD Member
b...bal...lence?....
370 posts

Posted:
hmmm.... im gonna sound all stupid and unprepared....
lit my staff up the night i got it.... so spinning for about 9ish hours before lighting....