Kaosmember
11 posts

Posted:
G'day all!I'm new to HomeOfPoi and twirling in general though I've picked up the basics pretty quickly I'm happy to say. Anyhoo I noticed mention a couple of times from people about martial arts origins of staff (and poi) moves, which is only logical.My question to you people is which martial arts incorporate staff moves and techniques? I've been interested in taking some martial arts for a while and if I can combine two interests/hobbies of mine I'd be one happy flaming kung-fu twirler.Cheers!========================- K.A.O.S.

AnonymousPLATINUM Member

Posted:
hey there Kaos smileMost of the martial arts that I know of teach unarmed techniques first, and then you start with the weapons. This is basically to ensure that people picking up weapons will have already demonstrated the ability to learn control and things like that before picking up the potentially more dangerous weapons.that said there are a few Martial Arts systems that teach weapons right from the word go - however I honestly couldnt help you with the specifics, as I dont know what your local area is like for weapons martial arts.Your best bet is ringing round a few reputable looking schools, and asking. There is no harm in being upfront with what you want out of a class, and the teachers will know more about your local scene that I do.Good luck,Josh

Antti_Panttimember
17 posts

Posted:
My firetroupe has a great martial arts scene in one of our performances. It's done with two 6 foot staffs and it's based on kung fu. There's a huge difference between a basic theatre style fight and a coreographed kung-fu fight. Looks really great and we hit with the staffs as hard as we can so the audience hears the sounds of staffs hitting to each other even over the music.

[Nx?]BRONZE Member
Carpal \'Tunnel
3,749 posts

Posted: