Forums > Social Chat > Desperate for help with 3 Beat Weave!!!

Login/Join to Participate

matt_crawfordSILVER Member
1 post

Posted:
Hi everyone, I'm new to Poi and have been teaching myself all sorts of stuff with the help of some YouTube videos and prior knowledge from people helping me out. I am seriously in desperate need to learn the 3 Beat Weave and It's really getting me too aggravated. I've asked friends for help, I watched YouTube videos over and over and over again and I just can't do it and pick it up. It's like Trigonometry to me, I just can't get it. If anyone can guide me to the best video possible to learn this I will be so appreciated. If I can't do these simple moves everyone else can then I'll never be able to light up and I really really want to badly :):) Thank you all, much love! smile

ABOBer92SILVER Member
ABOB - Pois'n'us
178 posts

Posted:
doing the 3 beat weave isnt mandatory before lighting up, tho i admit it is quite a valuable trick to drop into

i learnt mine from 6 different people all showing me the same method to do it and then just over a week of hitting myself until i finally got it. if you stress about it, then it will likely take longer

i googled 'slo mo 3 beat weave' and this was first to come up and it does look easy to follow
when starting off i usually teach people extended 3 beat weave (slower and smoother move which can make it a lot easier) by making them move their whole arm at first and then as they get the idea embedded in their brain they make the movements closer to the wrist and speed it up
best way of describing the extended 3 beat weave in text would be having your forearms crossed at the centre of each forearm, then spin the arm that is underneath right out and around as if you were swimming and bring it down directly above the part of your forearm that it started and then repeating with the other arm (which would now be underneath. the poi in this would be in a straight line from wrist and elbow when spinning