Forums > Help! > Strange Clock Issue Or am I time travling

Login/Join to Participate

jason_sciple
BRONZE Member since Apr 2009

jason_sciple

^---(In The Bushes stealing your poi moves MWHAHAHA)
Location: Gulfport,MS, USA

Total posts: 25
Posted:Ok so I have a toshiba a215 satellite laptop ,and after I have done a fresh install of vista home premium just a "freshen up wipe" ,my clock sets its time back 2 hours every day. It does not matter if I set it forward 2 hours in the morning I come home and wham its set back 4 hours. So, I have locked my computer down put the firewalls up and made sure none of my ports were open. Still I lose 2 hours a day frown frown
Oh and also made sure I was not on any drugs at that time grin

Have I lost my mind , have I time traveled everyday .


If anyone has any suggestions ...... I have googled everything and no help not even anyone having same problem. A friend says that its my processor going bad but I do not want to think about that frown

Thanks


Delete Topic

Mother_Natures_Son
SILVER Member since Aug 2007

Mother_Natures_Son

Rampant whirler.
Location: Geelong, Victoria, Australia!

Total posts: 2418
Posted:I really dunno what the issue is. . .

You could try downloading something for an atomic clock so that it synchs daily? You would end up going back in time, then forward though?

Its odd that it sets itself back two hours and then four, that doesnt sound consistant with a screwed processor, I'd have thought it'd be consistant or random, not consistantly 2 hours back from the real time.

As a bit of an experiment, you could try changing the time to something way off and the date to something totally different too and see what it does, might give something more to think about the cause.


hug

Delete

jason_sciple
BRONZE Member since Apr 2009

jason_sciple

^---(In The Bushes stealing your poi moves MWHAHAHA)
Location: Gulfport,MS, USA

Total posts: 25
Posted:well the issue is that say its 12 noon and then all the sudden it says its 10 am every day at random times and I looked on the website of the clock for updates or fixes and nothing

Delete

Mother_Natures_Son
SILVER Member since Aug 2007

Mother_Natures_Son

Rampant whirler.
Location: Geelong, Victoria, Australia!

Total posts: 2418
Posted:So its a third party atomic clock like this one? http://www.worldtimeserver.com/atomic-clock/
br>
If so take it off and see if it works on its own or install a different one.

Otherwise I am 100% stumped. Are all other time settings staying the same? your timezone for example?


hug

Delete

hamamelis
BRONZE Member since Jan 2006

hamamelis

nut.
Location: Bouncing off the walls., Engla...

Total posts: 756
Posted:
Awesome! You have an extra two hours a day to do everything!

You'll never be late again! tongue2


No, I can't make any useful comments, sorry..


THE MEEK WILL INHERIT THE EARTH!


If that's okay with you?

Delete

Mother_Natures_Son
SILVER Member since Aug 2007

Mother_Natures_Son

Rampant whirler.
Location: Geelong, Victoria, Australia!

Total posts: 2418
Posted:hug for hamamelis!

I don't really have anything useful either, I just like to pretend sometimes. grin


hug

Delete

jason_sciple
BRONZE Member since Apr 2009

jason_sciple

^---(In The Bushes stealing your poi moves MWHAHAHA)
Location: Gulfport,MS, USA

Total posts: 25
Posted:Nope it is the stock windows clock that is what's so weird about this problem frown . Stupid vista can not even make a clock work I will just have to go by my phone time then frown

Delete

pineapple pete
SILVER Member since Sep 2004

pineapple pete

water based
Location: melbourne, Australia

Total posts: 5125
Posted:at what speeds have you been traveling with your computer?

hug


"you know there are no trophys for doing silly things in real life yeah pete?" said ant "you wont get a 'listened to ride of the valkyries all the way to vietnam' trophy"

*proud owner of the very cute fire_spinning_angel, birgit and neon shaolin*

Delete

aston
SILVER Member since Dec 2007

aston

Unofficial Chairperson of Squirrel Defense League
Location: South Africa

Total posts: 4061
Posted:My guess is an appreciable fraction of c....

'We're all mad here. I'm mad, you're mad." [said the Cat.]
"How do you know I'm mad?" said Alice.
"You must be," said the Cat, "Or you wouldn't have come here."
- Lewis Carroll, Alice's Adventures In Wonderland

Delete

Fearpig
BRONZE Member since Sep 2003

Fearpig

member - tee hee "member"
Location: Bethnal Green, London, England...

Total posts: 279
Posted:Hello, it sounds like your clock is auto-correcting and that you have it set to the wrong time zone...

Click on your clock in the bottom right
Click on "Change Date and Time Settings..."
Confirm you are set to the right time zone or click "Change Time Zone..."

smile

Otherwise its something a bit more tricky!
Hope that helps. smile


"Whats wrong with the cat?" - Mrs Schrdinger

Delete

UCOF
SILVER Member since Apr 2002

UCOF

Carpal \'Tunnel
Location: , United Kingdom

Total posts: 15414
Posted:Could be a flat Bios battery too.

Delete

philhews
BRONZE Member since Jul 2008

newbie
Location: , England (UK)

Total posts: 37
Posted:Originally Posted By: UnscrupulousChavOffersFootCould be a flat Bios battery too.
Unlikely as this would result in an incorrect time/date when turning the computer on followed by it correcting itself.

First thing I'd check would be the time zone settings. If they seem ok then it may be possible to switch off automatic time updates (not sure how and I'm not in front of a vista machine currently, but Google will surely be your friend!)

HTH


Delete

jason_sciple
BRONZE Member since Apr 2009

jason_sciple

^---(In The Bushes stealing your poi moves MWHAHAHA)
Location: Gulfport,MS, USA

Total posts: 25
Posted:@ pete I think half the speed of smell smile might be cause my flux copastor is not fluxing. 1.21 giga watts is a lot of power you know


@ fearpig Ya tried that so freaking weird cause I am late all the time cause I use the computer time to go by. Im a little lazy and do not want to take my phone out my pocket if I leave it on the table I just forget it .

@UnscrupulousChavOffersFoot Ya dont know how to check that any tips / links ?


Delete

philhews
BRONZE Member since Jul 2008

newbie
Location: , England (UK)

Total posts: 37
Posted:Try switching off the internet update as explained here.

Delete

UCOF
SILVER Member since Apr 2002

UCOF

Carpal \'Tunnel
Location: , United Kingdom

Total posts: 15414
Posted:This does indeed sound like a wrong time zone setting the more I think about it.

Delete

jason_sciple
BRONZE Member since Apr 2009

jason_sciple

^---(In The Bushes stealing your poi moves MWHAHAHA)
Location: Gulfport,MS, USA

Total posts: 25
Posted:Thanks much UnscrupulousChavOffersFoot smile fixed the problem ~! on the down side no more time travling frown




Was Time zone auto select was making it wrong zone so it was trying to correct this its self well It did not know what time zone smile thanks a million


Delete


Similar Topics

Using the keywords [strange clock issue time travling] we found the following similar topics.
1. Learn > Interviews > Sugra the Juggler > Time and Money (The 13 Moon Calendar) *help/resource time and money  the 13 moon calendar if...
2. Forums > Strange Clock Issue Or am I time travling [15 replies]
3. Learn > POI > Beginners part 1 > Split time swinging *help/resource split swinging and back to equal time  practice these moves until you are...
4. Learn > Hoop > Mini hoop > entering Quater time (quads) *help/resource
5. Learn > POI > 1/4 Time (Quartertime) > 1/4 time Antispin Stalling *help/resource

     Show more..