OystaSpinner
8 posts

Posted:
I have just stumbled across this amazing site, and wish I had known of it's existence a long time ago. I started spinning fire poi about 8 years ago. My first try was with them lit - needless to say, I got quite used to getting burned.

I live north of Auckland in New Zealand. I am 32, and after reading through other intros, I must admit I feel a bit old.

The best thing I have learnt on here so far has to be the sock poi! (If only I knew then what I know now...) And, I am now spending my time learning the basic moves, as I seem to have taught myself the tricky stuff first lol.

Movement- I also use staff, belly dance and do yoga. By day, I'm a teacher (and a learner)

Favourite books - Huxley's Island, Conrad's Heart of Darkness, Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance, Tom Robbins's Another Roadside Attraction, Knots by R.D Laing, and anything by Umberto Eco

Favourite films (mainly old school war and gore) - Full Metal Jacket, Apocalypse Now, Platoon, Thin Red Line, Evil Dead, Haloween, Friday 13th

Music - I show my age in this department, Jeff Buckley, Tori Amos, Cure,The The, Beck, Thievery Corporation, Faithless (the list goes on) But am also a drum and bass freak from way back.

Godzilla - hands down. Has the added bonus of being prehistoric - surely experience has to count for something.

Vegemite on Vogels Yummmmm

astonSILVER Member
Unofficial Chairperson of Squirrel Defense League
4,061 posts

Posted:
Welcome!

If you have been spinning on your own, maybe you have some shiny new things to offer, wander in to the tech section and have a look.

And 32 is not old. Even if it does mean you were born in the 1970s.... tongue2

'We're all mad here. I'm mad, you're mad." [said the Cat.]
"How do you know I'm mad?" said Alice.
"You must be," said the Cat, "Or you wouldn't have come here."
- Lewis Carroll, Alice's Adventures In Wonderland

PuffSILVER Member
The Magic Dragon
134 posts

Posted:
Hey there!