Forums > Social Chat > calling all cambridge people and anyone else who can help

Login/Join to Participate

rin_666SILVER Member
enthusiast
223 posts

Posted:
okay guys so about a month ago I dropped out of my social work degree and started the hunt for a job. Well I got one as a gymboree teacher in cambridge. I'm currently living in norwich so this requires me to move to cambridge in september so I'm now on the hunt for a place to live.

I need help....seriously. I have never done anything like this before I have NO clue what I need to be looking for, what I need to watch out for, the general pitfalls of looking for places to live. I also don't know about the areas of cambridge, turns out there's about 50 areas that are IN cambridge...but not actually cambridge. What are they like? What are the areas that I need to avoid living in? Stuff like that.

Also any general advice about moving out, starting on your own all that jazz would be greatly appreciated thanks. smile

Thanks for any help you can give guys

p.s. I am SO excited about this job!!!!!!! biggrin

Fire BunnySILVER Member
veteran
1,260 posts

Posted:
When we first moved over here we were staying in Cambridge, with my boyfriends sister. She lives in Longstanton which is about 20mins or so by bus from central Cambridge. Its a nice little village, but I think it would be best to have a car to live there. There is one pub and on club and one corner store, and not much else apart from houses.
Busess are every hour untill about 6pm and then there is about 3 or 4 spaced out untill about 11pm (we found that out the hard way when a driver told us service up until 11pm and twice in a row we were waiting for over an hour before we relised it wasnt coming)
Thats all i can help you with sorry, we were only there for 2 weeks

What if we think the jokes on them,
But really - the jokes on us....

and also... i wuv Rougie *snuz*

MotleyGOLD Member
addict
434 posts

Posted: