Joshaynewbie
22 posts

Posted:
Ok,
I know i haven't been around on the forums too often and i'm still pretty new to Melbourne but i've discovered some fundamental problems with the way the sunday fire nights are going.

The location is dark, REALLY dark. If it's dark then newbies won't be able to introduce themselves. People won't be able to teach others. Jugglers can't juggle anything except fire and lights and it's extremely hard to catch the attention of any passers by.

Solution: We need to move somewhere that has light. Light doesn't dull the appearance of fire, if anything it shows that there's a person amongst the flames. Also, In a lighter location, interested passers aren't going to be as intimidated or scared to ask questions. Jugglers will be able to juggle AND people will be able to hold lessons and mini workshops on things.
It's time we face it, The group is tiny and very hard to get involved with, particularly if you have no fire experience.

One other thing; I don't know about the rest of you but sunday seems to be the night before monday. I havelots do on mondays and so don't have the luxury of getting to sleep in.
I'm from Adelaide and let me tell ya, the fire culture there is BOOMING!!!
Friday night people coming home from restraunts and the like are able to pass by and watch the show. Drummers, DJs, Spinners, Jugglers, Dancers, Acrobats, everything street culture has to offer. Only because the group is accessable.

I know many of you are adverse to change so i'm not gonna try and convince you to change. But what i can say is that as of this friday i will be under the swanson street bridge under the arts center at 8pm.
If this time is more accessable to you than sundays then come along and you're garunteed at least one other spinner who is more than
happy to teach and learn.

Eventually, if i can obtain the help of someone with a car, I shall try to provide communal keroscene because i know how horrible it is having to try and lug it everywhere.