red1Member
6 posts

Posted:
Hello, Im new to all of this...Poi and HoP. I was hoping to find people in Birmingham, UK that would be interested in meeting up for practise and sharing tips?

Arty FartyBRONZE Member
I wear yellow on monday
551 posts

Posted:
hey red, welcome to the neighbourhood.

im planning to move to birmingham next yr, so lets stay in tough and we can spin when the time comes.

why dont you tell us more about yourself, then they will come.

You'll find me on the dance floor

red1Member
6 posts

Posted:
Hi A.F, Where are you living now? Heres some info about me and POI.
I went Silloth Folk Festival last year and saw a woman spinneing fire. I thought it looked great. but only a month ago I realised that I should give it a go. So I bought ribbon Poi and now im hooked. Im not brilliant, just managed the weave, butterfly, giant butterfly, and almost got alternate butterfly. the behind the head stuff stumps me!
I take it, you are way better than me...everyone usually is!
Red.

lastrenshaimember
31 posts

Posted:
Hey guys.. I'm part of Birmingham Uni Circus..
we spin on mondays 5-7pm, during the hols though we're meeting up at the same time, though near the clock tower at the uni smile come along, should be fun! biggrin

red1Member
6 posts

Posted:
That sounds cool, im not sure of the directions to the clock though, and is there any costs involved?

Arty FartyBRONZE Member
I wear yellow on monday
551 posts

Posted:
sounds like theres a good birmingham group of spinners i can tag along with then when i move. biggrin

im currently back home for the summer, red, on the glorious isle of wight. its a beautiful place, but im missing the uni ruckus i left back in farnham, surrey.

im intending to do a P.G.C.E in art teacher training at B.I.A.D if you know where that is. either way im moving there with my two current housemates as its cheaper than moving to london, and is very up and coming i hear. is this right?