drakematrixSILVER Member
Maker of the Cheesecake
174 posts

Posted:
Ok, so I've been puttering around on here for a month now, I think it's time for me to actually formally introduce myself.

I'm Drake (well not my real name, but I don't use my real name anywhere, because it's Mike, and mike is just too darn common). I live in Akron, Ohio. I'm a senior at Kent State University (yes, that's where they shot those kids), where I'm majoring in sociology (which means my degree won't be worth the paper it's printed on). I will be graduating here in August, as soon as I can put my poi down long enough to finish my honors thesis.

Anyway, I'm an internet junkie, frat boy, artist (primarily jewelry/metals with a little glassblowing and ceramics and fiber thrown in), writer, and basically a jack of all trades, master of none.

I've had a love of fire for as long as I can remember. I'm certainly not spinning fire yet, but hope to be doing so by the end of the summer. I think it would be pretty cool if my first burn were at my combination Graduation/Birthday party at the end of august. I just gotta hold out till then. In the meantime, I'll occupy myself with LED's and socks and comets, oh my...

Looking to build myself a staff to practice with, but can't find the staff building threads, even with the help of search, so if anyone can direct me, I'd be greatful. I can't find any wood dowels long enough for me since I'm an inhumanly tall freak. well, not an inhumanly tall as the rest of my brothers, but still. I'm 6'4, which as I understand it, means I shoudl be spinning a 5'4" staff. I've found copper pipe in that length, but not wood.

I guess that's about it for now, If you have any questions, feel free to ask...

Oh yeah, and my homepage is https://www.personal.kent.edu/~mbcollin/
I haven't updated it recently, it needs my most recent artwork added, but I don't have pics taken yet. I'll probably work on it when this semester calms down