Page:
krcmarnewbie
3 posts

Posted:

Hi,

I'm a journalist in California and I'm working on a story about spinning Poi for the Los Angeles Times. In LA alone there have been a few "How-To" DVDs released recently and at least one of the producers wants to bring Poi to the masses. I'm looking to speak with folks who are both behind this and against it. If you would like to weigh in and maybe chat on the phone briefly about it, please IM me.

Cheers,

Steve

BirgitBRONZE Member
had her carpal tunnel surgery already thanks v much
4,145 posts

Posted:
I didn't criticise Arsn, but Mr. Krcmer seemed to be after talking to people in personal... he might not have liked reading up on old links. I don't know! I know *I* didn't talk to him because I'm just not really bothered, and don't really know enough of the spinning scene to give him any interesting stories, I'm just one of the people who started after it was already way too mainstream for lots of the "oldskoolers" on here wink

It didn't pass me by, but it's not an instruction, it's a bit of background and it links to sites and names people who are responsible, it even mentions a place that is directed at fire safety. I mean, come on, if I see a newspaper article on tightrope walking 100 feet above the ground I won't go and try it straight away and then blame a writer if he got the knot for the rope wrong and it comes undone. I'll get in touch with the circus school groups listed in the appendix first. Or say you find an article on deep-sea diving in a "normal" newspaper - would you go and buy exactly that equipment and dive right in without asking a proper instructor?? If anyone reads the article and sets poi on fire first thing then they'll probably get hurt with kero or paraffin, too wink