Forums > Social Chat > Destruction through Fire.

Login/Join to Participate

NYCNYC
9,232 posts

Posted:
I had an interesting day last week at school. (I'm a school teacher for those who don't know) I referred a kid who had been talking about playing with fire. I felt like such a narc but I knew I had to do it. He'd been talking about burning things and fire breathing with lighter fluid. The funniest part was my boss saying things like "what kind of person would go around burning things?" You can imagine, it was hard not to laugh.

It was a pretty obvious choice, once I realized that I thought the situation was more about destroying things than the fire. I guess, like all things, fire can be used in many different ways. I use it because it's pretty, not to destroy things that I don't like and certainly not to express anger. I wonder if there are any of you that were drawn to fire for negative reasons such as destruction or rage. The whole concept actually gave me a bit of a realization that we may joke a bit about being pyros and such but there are people out there who use fire violently and for rage. Kinda scary.

The final note was an "Oh my god, thank goodness that I'm not public about my fire performing with my kids!" Many people have expressed confusion as to why I've stayed anonomous to the general board. I don't think I could have been in a position to help this kid if he had believed that I, too, "played with fire"... Most kids would have been able to tell the difference between someone like me and someone who uses fire violently but that one or two that would use it to validate their own disfunctional use of fire would be very difficult to argue with. Plus parents would kick my butt...

Just one of those stories that was too obviously HoP related not to share...

Well, shall we go?
Yes, let's go.
[They do not move.]

LuNcHbOx...(Aka. Nathan)-un-singlemember
536 posts

Posted:
does melting plastic toys count, coz if'n it does i'm guilty.