Kirimember
4 posts

Posted:
Okay, just be nice to me because I am just beginning, I bought my first pois at the Byron Bay markets the other day and I have just started using some things I learnt when I was travelling and the lessons on this sit, I am still getting the hang of that mexican wave thing YEAH I SAID I WAS JUST STARTING, I ment that.I can do other things of course but I am just doing the lessons in order so I wont move on until I get this one down. ANYWAY, so back to my questions, the pois I bought are made from courdroy sacks of sand with ribbons attached and all the wires and what not. ANYWAY, they looked really cool when I bought them but when I started using them for certain moves I found the ribbons to be a little bit unpractical, I have managed to stop the pois colliding but the ribbons catch on the ends and screw everything up. SO I have been wrapping the ribbons up to do those certain moves but I guess I just want to know are the ribbons always going to collide or is a case of practise makes perfect? I dont want to cut them off because they are fine for any moves were the ribbons dont go near each other just those butterfly ones. Allright, I guess thats it for now, hope someone can get back to be on that. Bye!

PeleBRONZE Member
the henna lady
6,193 posts

Posted:
Tails, ribbons, etc. will be more prone to tangle but with practice that will minimize. Mine still get tangled but not in knots anymore unless I screw up terribly. While practicing new moves just wrap them around your poi and fasten down with rubber bands, no need to cut them off.
I will say that the longer they are the more prone they are to tangle.

A (very) reasons why they tangle:
Breeze
ANgle of your swing path is a little off (or alot off in my case)
Your timing is a bit off

If they tangle alot, perhaps you should adjust your swing and see what happens. Tails/ribbons can be a very useful tool for polishing your technique!
Good luck!

Pele