Forums > Introductions > from the Land of Bombay!

Login/Join to Participate

ginkgogirlSILVER Member
1 post

Posted:
Hallo Lovely PoiPeople!

Another newbie succumbs to the Joy of Poi =) A brief bio on me:

LIVE: in the mad, wonderful city of Bombay, India, having moved back here about 2 months ago after spending almost 10yrs in the Ithaca (upstate NY, USA).

LOVE: dancing, deserts, dreaming, flying, twirling, smiling; the ocean, glowing shiny lights, gadgets that go 'bleep', science museums; energy, curiosity, daring, my iPod

LEARN: I did a bachelor's degree in biology, almost finished a master's degree in communication but abandoned it in favor of Life the Best Teacher. Packed my bags and walked away; now I'm working for a small startup wine company in Bombay (India makes *wine*??) while i save up money to get a paragliding license, go scuba diving again, and set up a small electronics/sculpture studio where i can have Fun with Lights, Wire, and Fire.

I saw poi firetwirling for the first time in my life last September (waaay overdue), at Burningman - www.burningman.com - in Black Rock Desert, Nevada, USA. It totally blew my mind, and so 6 months later I went straight to the source - New Zealand - to acquire my first set of poi - beautiful Photon Poi that light up blue, red, and green - and have since experienced Instant Love. Wow.

So I've had them for a few weeks now, and have nobody else to twirl with/learn from as they're completely unheard of here in India as such (although *I* seem to have gotten lots of other people interested now, which is awesome!). I've been learning pretty much exclusively from the HoP online lessons, and thus far I can do:

Corkscrew
Butterfly / Giant Butterfly
Overhead butterfly (whacking myself in the head after the 1st couple passes, tho)
Weave (2bt)
Weave (3bt - just got this one yesterday, very excited!)
Chasing the Sun
Walking/Changing direction
Low wave