Danny_GOLD Member
95 posts

Posted:
Update Time!

Here's an update, as a part of my efforts to be more involved in the community that I've learnt so much from.

I have been spinning poi since 2004, and been enthralled since day one. Poi, and other similar arts, are taking over my life. And I love it.

I work full time in a very technical, but uncreative job. I dream of being able to leave it, and focus on something more creative, and be with real people. I hold myself back because I know I'll be old some day, and want to be in the best position to support myself, family, etc. So for now, I try to do both, and feel held back with both. To put it in a happier way; I love spinning, and work hard so I can afford all those toys and festivals :-)

Name: Danny

Hometown: Kingston upon Thames, UK

Birthday (sign?): 3rd May, Taurus

Sex: Male

Occupation(s): Consultant Engineer

Favourite Food(s): Everything

Favourite Colour(s): Black, Blue, Green

What is the wing speed of an unladen swallow? 11m/s

Toys: Poi, of the homemade variety

Hobbies other than the obvious: They're getting pushed aside by the urge to spin. Squash, football, guitar, art, more...

Education: Masters in Mechanical Engineering

Favourite Book(s): I've been recently introduced to Terry Pratchett, and read 14 of his books since July. Thoughtful and entertaining, brilliance.

Favourite Movie(s):

Godzilla vs. a Star Wars Star Destroyer. Who wins? Why? Mutual destruction. Because it would be fun to watch.

Favourite TV show(s): The one where the screen stays black.

Plans for life in general: (i.e. what you want to do when you grow up) Explore, inspire, discover, share, and support.

Favorite Music Artists/Composers: Joe Satriani, Soilwork, and Infected Mushroom have been favourites for a while. There's currently a big hole in my musical awareness, of music I'm recently wanting to hear. I either need to find new music, or learn to make my own. Maybe both.