Forums > Social Discussion > Our greatest memories in performance

Login/Join to Participate

Frederick the RecklessBRONZE Member
Troupe Leader and founder, Fire and Steel
241 posts

Posted:
I thought I might share my greatest performance memories from my time as a performer with you, and i'd like to hear yours.

i started performing 6 years ago, and in that time i have had some experiences that i would not trade for anything.

the first time i spun, i was instantly hooked. i didn't know where it was going to go from there, but i knew i loved the sound of the flames. people liked watching, and that helped, as i have always been a bit of a showoff. getting onstage was a bit if a pain, as there was a group in my area of the Society for Creative Anachronism that was a bit territorial and would do anyting to keep people off the stage if they weren't with them. i started up my Troupe, Fire and Steel, and decided never to blackball anyone who was sober at the time of performance. this led to being respected by other performers. (before this, firedancers were known as a walking egotrip.) the drummers were reluctant to play for firedancers because they never got so much as a thank-you for playing when they didn't have to. this changed for us when i started getting the audience to applaud for them, pass them drinks (if they get drunk, they're not putting the audience in jeopardy... this is not the case if the firedancers get drunk, however.), and inviting them out at the end of the show to take what i considered their rightful bow.