Forums > Beginner Poi Moves > Learning order? Necessary to learn a move before a perticular other?

Login/Join to Participate

ThylithBRONZE Member
19 posts

Posted:
Okay, Im still a new newbie ^^

Are there any perticular moves that you should try to learn BEFORE you try more advanced moves?

I can do

3 Beat Weave
5 Beat Weave
3 Beat BTB Weave
Butterfly
Mexican Wave
BTB Butterfly
Chasing the Sun
Windmill
Giant Windmill
Buzzsaw (The simple split swinging between arms)
Simple airwrap in front of body

I dont know how to do Buzzsaw Weave and stuff in that advanced class, and before I try to learn those are there any moves that are good to be able to do? Moves that will make it easier to learn more advanced moves.

Cheers guys and girls!
Thylith wink

spiralxveteran
1,376 posts

Posted:
Learn all of your reels before doing anything else! I think one version is in the tutorials here as "low wave" but you should be able to do the same thing same-direction and opposite-direction, starting from every direction, forwards and backwards, same- and split-time!

And then the same at shoulder height. Windmill and chasing the sun are pretty much variations on shoulder reels anyway so you've got a head start.

Knowing all of these is *essential* to good spinning later on! Without them you'll never be able to move through different moves gracefully or be able to spin various things.

"Moo," said the happy cow.

ThylithBRONZE Member
19 posts

Posted:
Thanks for the quick answer.

Im really sorry for my english, but what is a reel?

And I forgot to tell that I also can do all those Weaves I said reverse too..

So I should learn all the "Free Lessons"-moves before I carry on with more tricky stuff?

spiralxveteran
1,376 posts

Posted:
This is one example of a reel:

https://www.homeofpoi.com/lessons/poi_lessons.php/poi/17

A reel is where each poi does a figure of eight with each hand by your hip. The one in the lesson above is an outwards opposite direction same-time reel smile