Forums > Help! > Buying First Set of Poi, intermediate skill. Advice please?

Login/Join to Participate

Storm CrowBRONZE Member
stranger
1 post

Posted:
Hello all! I've been spinning poi for about 3 months with a friend. I am heading back to University and thus will not be around him. He has a set of poi that has a very solid weight to it, used to be flag poi but he cut the flags off. He has no clue where he got them, it was at an art show years back.

I consider myself a beginner but not inexperienced (I can do a 5 beat weave, takeouts, as well as an array of basic tricks) and I have spun fire poi once but do not feel comfortable with continuing to learn with unlit fire poi as they hurt a lot on contact

I am actually leaning towards https://www.homeofpoi.com/shop/productDetails/Pair-of-Corded-Fluffy-Poi
these but I am unsure if I will be able to control things like a 5 beat weave with them. At first glance, although adjustable, they look extremely long. Does anyone have any experience with them? I'm most concerned about ease of control and solid weight/length.

I'm basically just looking for some solid practice poi that I can keep learning with. Pretty much good with any site, price, etc. I'm willing to pay for a quality product for sure. I'm at my wits end and I would greatly appreciate some assistance, been trying to find a solid buyer for about a month now which is what brought me here.

P.S. I live in the United States, if that's any factor.

Thank you all very much for your help. smile I really appreciate it.

EDITED_BY: Storm Crow (1359429856)

Trybal WolfSILVER Member
Wolf Furry
517 posts

Posted:
Hey Storm Crow,

I wouldn't go with the fluffy poi. If I were you, I would go with a nice pair of cone poi with swivels. (Sold on HOP as well.) They will provide a more pleasure able learning experience.

I'd rather die on paws, than live on feet.

beaniebobGOLD Member
casually noob tech poi spinrar
155 posts

Posted: