Page:
_Clare_BRONZE Member
Still wiggling
5,967 posts

Posted:
This is a bit of a shameful admission... redface
(god, it feels like the intro to a Poi Anonymous meet)

I've been playing poi for two years... and I still haven't mastered the hyperloop/chain-twist-then-untwist move.

My big ol' heavy dogchains just ended up spinning at chaotic speeds, usually finishing their demented spin by hitting me in the face...

I've been lurking in homeofpoi forums for a good while now, and someone always mentions the benefit of sock poi... of course, I thought I knew best... cos it's always best to get used to the weight of your firepoi, right?!!

Ahem... no. Yesterday, for the first time (!!!), I made up some sock poi, and... managed a fairly nice hyperloop straight off!!!! Wayhey, joy and delight... biggrin

Course, I then spent the rest of the afternoon kicking myself round the garden for not trying it sooner... lol. I reckon with a bit more refining, and now I know the basics, I might even get it with my chains... weavesmiley

Just wanted to y'know... share ubblol
Take care xoxo

Getting to the other side smile

DomBRONZE Member
Carpal \'Tunnel
3,009 posts

Posted:
Yep, sock poi are where it's at. Once you've got something figured out with sock poi it'll be easier to carry it over to chains, tails & whatever.

You in Belfast? LAst autumn I spent about 4 months in Belfast - only met 2 poi spinners, lovely people. So either I know you or you missed out on learning airwraps back in autumn. Oh well.

colemanSILVER Member
big and good and broken
7,330 posts

Posted:
speaking of sockpoi mr dom...

do you have any more white material/time to sew yet? ubbangel

"i see you at 'dis cafe.
i come to 'dis cafe quite a lot myself.
they do porridge."
- tim westwood

SpitFireGOLD Member
Mand's Girl....and The Not So Shy One
2,723 posts

Posted:
Sock Poi haven't really made a huge appearance here in the southern part of the states...