Forums > Social Discussion > opinions please - possible trouble brewing at work

Login/Join to Participate

BirgitBRONZE Member
had her carpal tunnel surgery already thanks v much
4,145 posts

Posted:
I'm doing a PhD and have an account for paying the research material, travelling costs, ccomputers etc. Now a while ago I ordered a computer through it, and it's been decided that there would be 2 ordered because they were so cheap at the time.

Today I found out (more or less by coincidence) that actually both computers were ordered through my account. The way I found out was one of my supervisors asking "what's your account number again?". After asking it was "yes, you've got more money than you'll spend on computers anyways, and it's just a few hundred pounds".

(Leave aside that I'm not exactly used to thinking of a few hundred pounds as being "just" a few hundred pounds)

So I decided to ask my prof about it, and he said, yes, if there's more money than necessary in someone's account, it goes out to communal stuff as well. Now I knew this, and that he has the final decision about whose money's being spent on what, even though my sponsors pay a few thousand pounds of "bench fees" which means communal stuff. But I pointed out that it would've been better if someone had told me, just so I could keep track of my account, and he said he thought I knew, and he'll have a word with her, because this wasn't right.

Now, this means I'm either in for being ignored by her for a month or so, or I'll be ignored by her and 2 or 3 other people as well, or there'll be a huge confrontation, or there will just be silence and everyone will pretend it hasn't happened until the next thing happens.