Forums > Technical Discussion > Looking to build a firestaff

Login/Join to Participate
Page:
WooktasticBRONZE Member
the kicker of elves
371 posts

Posted:
The wood is probably there so the screws have something to grip into.

Man is no more than a conduit for excrement to pass through.- daVinci

Jointly owned by BurdA and Tinypixie

Wielder of the voice of Patrick Stewart

Fire_MooseSILVER Member
Elusive and Bearded
3,597 posts

Posted:
im a newb but im on my second experiment staff.

the dowels are as stated above for the screws and to add weight to the ends.

i dont think you would even need to sew the two pieces of kevlar together couldnt you just wrap one wick normal and then wrap a second one right under that? essentially it would be one big wick.

as for whether or not it would burn the grip, i dunno

O.B.E.S.E.

Owned by Mynci!

CharlesBRONZE Member
Corporate Circus Arts Entertainer
3,989 posts

Posted:
no need to sew them together, just attach as you woudl normally, and when screwed into the wood they will hold well.

For increasing burn time, there's not many options that make a massive difference, but massaging PVA into the ends of the wicks can help prevent fuel from flying out whiole spinning.

It makes a noticable difference, but too much PVA can make the ends too hard after several burns, so massage a bit in to start with, and then put more on later if needed...

HoP Posting Guidelines
* Is it the Truth?
* Is it Fair to all concerned?
* Will it build Goodwill and Better Friendships?
* Will it be Beneficial to all concerned?

MynciBRONZE Member
Macaque of all trades
8,738 posts

Posted:
massive wicks biggrin I used to have 2 sets of 4.5 inch kevlar making 2 9 inch wicks on my old stick if you use 1m instead of 50 cm length wrapped around you can hold more fuel and get big burn-offs but even with a 155cm staff fire tended to lick towards the handle but I had a lot of grippy handle for contact.