AndeSILVER Member
The Enthusiastic!
13 posts

Posted:
I'm new to HoP.

I have been spinning for a little over a year now.

I alway spin alone. I do not know any other Poi spinner.

I am getting discouraged because there is only so much enthusiasm I can put into learning this art all alone and completely based off viral videos from the internet.

Please understand, Poi is sooo important to me, and it hurts me to feel like I am stuck without much improvment for the last few months.

I'm hoping to get lots and lots of critique here... because I dont have anyone around to let me know what Im doing right, what I am doing wrong, and what I need improvment on..

Also, I understand everyone adopts their own style of poi, so let me know some of your special little tips and tricks to help me along my path.

Here it is: my latest video, 5 different locations in Eugene on one boring night last week.
(my next one wont be a collab.. doesnt help me too much to edit out some of the bad stuff.)

OR try this link:

EDITED_BY: Ande (1262129569)

e6SILVER Member
we are the music makers, we are the dreamers of dreams
45 posts

Posted:
it looks like spinning alone is working for you, bro! i know that's not the response you were looking for, but you have a distinct style and i like it. your butterflies converge at about 15-20 degrees off center - i don't know if that's intentional, but i like it - particularly when you are sort of isolating them.

if you are finding your skills/ideas have plateaued, start saving money now to go to Fire Drums in the spring. i haven't been to fire drums, but i've been to wildfire (which is a similar thing, but much smaller and on the east coast), and it was one of the most amazing experiences of my life. it sounds like exactly what you need if you are feeling lonely with poi.

as far as tips and tricks, i'm sure a lot of people will tell you this, but the two biggest things that have helped me (besides going to wildfire) are: