Forums > Social Discussion > Friends without resorting to Alcohol?

Login/Join to Participate

nearly_all_goneSILVER Member
Pooh-Bah
1,626 posts

Posted:
(hope no-one minds this being in here... thought it was a wee bit more serious than chat..?)

OK, I'm short of friends. Maybe this is my own fault, it probably is... but I'm really lonely a lot of the time. I like coming on here but I'm a student! I've just started my second year and I'm finding it really hard to get on with the people I live with - they all drink and do loads of drugs, which is fine, but not for me. I do drink but I'm trying to be less of a monster for it.

So I was wondering - what should I do to make friends? I'm pretty shy and this is all a bit daunting. The fact is, I'm just depending on my long-distance girlfriend so much that it's putting a strain on our relationship and I really want to meet new people, people to talk to and people I can help with difficult stuff they're going through. I want to get a job because that's a good way, but with my studies and my determination to keep weekends free so I can see my lady, it's tricky.

At the moment the next 2 years of uni seem like hell!

I hope this isn't too self-serving or anything.. I'm not after loads of replies going "I'll be your friend".. I just need to stop feeling crap! So thanks for any suggestions you can give me smile

What a wonderful miracle if only we could look through each other's eyes for an instant.
Thoreau

SkulduggeryGOLD Member
Pirate Pixie Crew Captain
8,428 posts

Posted:
Does your Uni have a circus society? If not think about setting one up. That way you'll get to meet lots of other people. What other interests do you have? Are there any clubs or groups dedicated to them at Uni?