T-S-ASILVER Member
Magic Monkey Juice
252 posts

Posted:
Ok, so I have been doing staff for about a day. Got really really into it.

Have gone through

•Beginners part 1
•Beginners part 2
•Beginners Throws
•Finger turns
•Isolation

on the HOP learn section. Clearly I don't have them all perfect, but I am feeling fairly confident and have had no problem flowing between things. Also through doing poi I can turn with everything I learned so far and go behind the back and behind the head and so on. Have also picked up flowers, wallplane, wheelplane and 360, in spin and anti-spin.

I have never done staff before, and rarly hung around with any staff spinners, and know practicly nothing about it. Sooooooooooo; what would you in the know staffers recomend for me to play with next?

"We were making castles in the sand: Now we swim in the seas that swept them away"

Icarus FordeBRONZE Member
Just Icarus//Spinner//Pyro//Geek
261 posts

Posted:
Make sure you have your hand wraps packed down. I don't know what style of staff you do, but it's one of the basic points of my staff work. Also, get your finger spins done as well - transitioning into a hand wrap from finger spin/vice versa can be very cool. smile

T-S-ASILVER Member
Magic Monkey Juice
252 posts

Posted:
I have no idea what style I'm going for either tongue2

At the moment I am just playing around and learning and seeing where it takes me.

Will work on the transitions when I get home smile

Are there any other basic fundamentals I should be looking at?

"We were making castles in the sand: Now we swim in the seas that swept them away"

261 posts

Posted:
Again, I can't really say much without knowing your style... tongue2 I was taught face to face and have just expanded from there, that being said, I should probably go through those videos to work out what is in there and what I should learn.