.:star:.SILVER Member
Pooh-Bah
1,785 posts

Posted:
I'm just getting back into my Open University studies after a years break for 'interrupted study' and i was wondering if there are any hoppers out there that are doing an OU course??

I am currently studying DSE212 Exploring Psychology with the aim to getting a degree in Psychology. In 2003 I completed the level one course DD100 - An introduction to social sciences.

What i like about the OU is doing most of the work on my own. I get very easily distracted by people so i work best alone and its great being able to work at your own pace

What I am finding difficult is knowing who to talk to about stuff on the course. I am a lot younger than the average OU student and I find that on the times i have ventured to a tutorial i have found it very difficult to get into discussions with people as they are too busy looking at me as if i am a freak!

It would be great if there were any hoppers out there doing an OU course (esp psychology related courses). I'd love to hear your views and experiences with it. ubbrollsmile

NYCNYC
9,232 posts

Posted:
What means "Open University"?

Well, shall we go?
Yes, let's go.
[They do not move.]

spritieSILVER Member
Pooh-Bah
2,014 posts

Posted:
https://www.openuniversity.com
seems to have a whole bunch of info about it...looks like online university class credit to me.

Pooh-Bah
1,785 posts

Posted:
Sorry...should have said. Its a UK based university.
You can study short courses, certificates, diplomas and degrees etc.

It uses books, the internet and the BBC learning zone as well as tutorials at local colleges, lectures and residential courses.

Although its UK based, there are study centres around the world and its great for people in the forces etc who want to get a qualifacation but normal distance learning isn't appropriate.

hope that fills in the gaps..i'm to make lemonade biggrin

Pooh-Bah
1,785 posts

Posted:
no OU hoppers out there?

The Tea FairySILVER Member
old hand