MikeIconGOLD Member
Pooh-Bah
2,109 posts

Posted:
Im looking to get my first pair of wicks but not sure which ones to choose. I currently use beamers and like the weight of them. So Id like the wick weight to be as close to that as possible. I dont want too big a flame as Im new to using fire. I would like the wicks to be long burning though. It basically comes down to the 2.5 inch core, 4 inch core, or cathedrals. Im afraid the 2.5s would be a bit small and light while the 4s would be a bit too big and heavy. Cathedrals look like a good choice but Im afraid the flame would be bigger than I want. Which would you suggest?

Let's turn those old bridges we crossed into ashes.
We'll blaze a new trail,
and torch the rough patches.

-Me

HeadSwimGOLD Member
...curiously lost
580 posts

Posted:
Hi,
You say u use beaming balls? If so u wont get a better match for size and weight than monkey fist heads...the 2.5 inch ones. Burn times are about as long as you can get (mine burn for about 8 mins) and whilst the flame is impressive its not huge....i've hurt myself a lot more with my beaming balls than my monkey fists. When soaked they do weigh in slightly heavier than beaming balls but its not really noticable. As i said flames are quite big but because they are round heads they kinda flow and arn't as "messy" as other types of head so they leave nice big trails. Anyhoo hope this helps, Laters.

Nothing is easy.......until you can do it! biggrin

DentrassiGOLD Member
ZORT!
3,045 posts

Posted:
overall, the weight doenst matter too much. experiment with different equipment - different poi sizes, chain types, chain lengths, and use them all.
the beamers have a nice weight, i agree, but as soon as you start spinning with fire you wont notice too much difference in the balance.

id advise against the cathedrals, i spun with 2/2.5 wick for a year before making my cathedrals, and i think getting some experience before dealing with a flame that enormous is good.