Forums > Other Toys > I Need Help with Meteor!

Login/Join to Participate

CatastrophicBRONZE Member
44 posts

Posted:
So I have been playing with meteor for a few months now, and no one in my town spins meteor (that I know or have seen) so I am on my own techniques-wise.

I am currently spinning 7 feet of 1/4 inch aircraft cable with weighted tennis balls on either end. I bought "The Meteor Book" but I'm having problems, with no one to turn to.

Namely, my meteor folds up when I start doing helicopter style spins or trying to do the one-handed figure 8, or the windmill (tilting the helicopter down onto the vertical plane)...

The problem is that I am rather small and slight (5 ft 105 lb woman) and I dont have the arm or wrist strength to spin heavy-weighted meteor ends. I am wondering if my folding in half problem (which turns into one-handed poi tricks right fast) is due to me not having enough weight on the ends of my cable, to create the tension that makes it perform staff-like tricks.

I tried adding more weight to the tennis balls, but then it tweaked out my wrists when I did poi-style moves...

Any ideas anyone??? How heavy a weight should I use on the ends of a meteor to really get it to behave like a staff??

Also, Im trying to think of a way to attach poi-handles (double loop variety) to my meteor so I can have handles for poi-moves and not have accidental releases..

Thanks, any ideas would be much appreciated!!!

PS. Anyone going to Burningman this year who spins meteor???? Lets talk!

[Nx?]BRONZE Member
Carpal \'Tunnel
3,749 posts

Posted:
id definatly go for a shorter metior to learn the staff-form stuff. Im 6'2" and use about a 5.5' metior.

for one hand figure eight hold the metior slightly toward the leading end, ie for forwards you hold the metior nearer the end coming from finger and thumb.

for practice metior, two long socks tied together are good and can be broken down into poi.