Forums > Technical Discussion > Fuel damage on various materials

Login/Join to Participate

jcrsGOLD Member
the floor is a sea of tigers...
404 posts

Posted:
Hi everyone,

I've been twirling for a few months now (thanks to the cool people at Divine Imagination for getting me started), but i sometimes have problems with bringing my staff on public transport (apparently the offical rules are that there's nothing against firetoys, but the transport operator can refuse based on their own judgement).

Anyway, in the end, I've decided to make a case for it that i could arguably pass off as a drafting tube or something. Plan is to use a PVC pipe + appropriate fittings for the case and maybe a bit of foam for padding the ends so the staff dosen't bounce around too much.

My question is will the usual fire twirling fuels (kero, firewater, etc.) "eat" at the pvc? and what kind of foamy/spongy/cushiony material can i use for padding the ends. I haven't been able to get anything useful of out google and i can't seem to find anything on the forms here about it.

Thanks in advance!
(longing for the day i can stop carrying my staff around with white socks at the end looking like a giant q-tip of death)

thelostSILVER Member
mmm...i feel all warm and fuzzy... 'no dude, that's your hair on fire'
355 posts

Posted:
This link here is the closest thing i found.

Other than that, no clue, sorry frown Never thought of trying to use foam against fuels like this. You could try stuffing a small towel at the ends instead? That's probably more reliable.

It's better to burn out than to fade away

Julie2022member
145 posts

Posted:
Clever idea - disguise that baby! smile

yeah, I see wrapping a towel around the ends - maybe covering the end with plastic baggies?