Nick PoetSILVER Member
7 posts

Posted:
Hey guys,

I've been spinning poi for almost two years now, and think I am ready to move to fire poi. Which one would you recommend? Which fuel should I use? I read kerosene is good, is that true?

Thanks

ABOBer92SILVER Member
ABOB - Pois'n'us
178 posts

Posted:
the amount of debate over 1) type of poi head and 2) fuel to use has been covered endlessly and with no real final answer

the general consensus for fuel is paraffin, its very close to kerosene (some places interchange the name regularly) and you can find it at most gardening stores (its general use is something to do with barbecues im told) BUT there are a lot of fuel options, see this for detailed info:
https://www.homeofpoi.com/lessons_all/teach/Which-Fuel-should-I-use-for-my-fire-tools-1_2_1866
https://www.homeofpoi.com/lessons_all/teach/Know-your-fuel-MSDS-1_2_195
https://www.homeofpoi.com/lessons_all/teach/International-Fuel-Names-1_2_517