AchiladoowegaSILVER Member
All Sloppy No Joe
22 posts

Posted:
I've been trying out poi for a couple of weeks now. I'm a newbie at it, not very skilled. I know some moves and such mostly because I used to do flag corp back in junior high and high school (that's where the staff experience comes from), so I know my space pretty well. I'm rusty at the staff.

But this isn't about the staff, it's about me poi spinning!

Anyways, pretty much like the staff, I've always had problems getting my left hand to do anything complicated on its own. I think it's retarded or something.

I can do forward spins, backward spins, low turns, high turns, butterflies, flowers, and half of a two-beat weave (I call it the 1-beat weave! *sighs*) and split time. But when when I try to do the other half of the two-beat weave or slit time opposites, my left hand just doesn't want to cooperate. What's worse is I get smacked in the head by my poi. I can even do a butterfly, but what's really strange is that when I go in, my left wants to be the top.

My right is my most dominant hand, it's what I use to draw with, write, and it even suffered from carpal tunnel syndrome once. I found out that swinging poi actually helps the pain a bit.

What do you guys suggest I do about the left hand so it'll be able to at least do split time opposites? I've tried getting it to spin backwards and my right spin forwards, then I tried to get the left to spin forwards and my right spin backwards, but each time, when my left spins, and my right starts in, the left automatically switches over to the direction the right wants to do as if it has no mind of its own.

Which is strange because I play violin and that's the only time the left does its own thing and the right is the one who has to keep up.

Help! It's not that I don't know how to do those moves or what they are, it's just that the left hand won't do them. Is there a suggestion that I could use to make my left more confident?

Gone spinning...