Forums > Help! > Starting With Fire

Login/Join to Participate

4LeafCloverSILVER Member
Never confined to a single belief
32 posts

Posted:
I searched this, and found a few topics, and a few articles. But none of them actually helped me.

So I have been doing poi for a a few months, and I am not overly great, but in what I do know, I am very confident in. I want to start with fire, just so I get used to it, and slowly work my way up with more advanced poi moves with fire.

However, I have a fire staff, which I do the 'eating' and 'breathing' with, and I am not scared of the fire, but for some reasons, when I get ready to want to spin, something sort of comes over me, that fears me. I have been burned countless times, I play with fire often, but something stops me when I want to spin it. I always get ready if I am about to do it, and take every safety aspect there is.

So what can I do, to get more familiar with spinning, to help relax me, so I don't worry. Because I know that if I do it worried, then something will go wrong.

May the Centrifugal Force be with you.

::Ignorance Is Bliss

Mother_Natures_SonSILVER Member
Rampant whirler.
2,418 posts

Posted:
Use your fire poi a lot unlit, get used to them. They'll be a bit heavier when you come to actually use them lit, however. You could even practice getting the poi safely away from yourself.

Fuel is also a consideration... I use D60 and it never even really gets hot enough to burn me unless I am moving them slowly and want to do a spiral wrap... but I don't because I know the metal gets hot. smile

hug

4LeafCloverSILVER Member
32 posts

Posted:
Thanks. And that is another thing I wondered about, I love to do spiral wraps. And I do a lot of direction changes on my arms and legs. Would that seriously hurt me in any way? I am okay if it gets a little hot.

Fire_MooseSILVER Member
Elusive and Bearded
3,597 posts

Posted: