Forums > Social Chat > in desperate need of dread help!

Login/Join to Participate

dreadynicolenewbie
1 post

Posted:
Hey all!

I am new here but came because I thought I can get some advice for my dreadlocks...

I have had them for about 6 years - they are soooo long, almost to my ass in some spots. i did them all naturally - just knotted by hand and that's it!

BUT, now, they are really really filled with residue! i have been using regular shampoo every day for 6 years. now, even after i wash them, they look greasy on top and they feel really weighed down and i hate it! i want them to be soft and fluffy again!!

can anyone help me?!?!?!
i have found a receipe on line that you can make and soak your hair in that supposedly is a deep cleanser, but dont know if it works for sure.

if you have ANY advice whatsoever, i would be eternally grateful!!!

my e-mail address is nicolelboyer@Yahoo.com

THANK YOU!!!! smile

AdeSILVER Member
Are we there yet?
1,897 posts

Posted:
ok, I have long dreads and don't wash them everyday, but do wash them...

what is this residue you speak of?

are you drying your hair fully after washing? I know with my long thick dreads it can take all day to dry them naturally, and I still need time under the hair dryer at the end of the day...are you sure they are in fact dry?

ARe you using conditioner? I use that after washing mine and they are pretty fluffy at times...

shrug

jo_rhymesSILVER Member
Momma Bear
4,525 posts

Posted:
Sorry, I had dreads for 3 years and my problem were that they were too fluffy!!

I hope your dreads will sort out for you. It's really important that they are completely dry after washing, as Ade said. smile

Hoppers are angels who lift us to our feet when our wings have trouble remembering how to fly.

burningoftheclaveySILVER Member
lurking like a ninja with no camouflage..
926 posts

Posted:
mm..mouldy dreads are not a good thing!