envienewbie
8 posts

Posted:
Heya!

Ive just started learning and every time i try to spin my poi behind me (behind my head or my back) i either hit myself in the ankles, back or my head. Or they just tangle up... Ive been trying to do it all day with no luck :P

Any tips on how to keep them spinning?

Thanks!!!!

on va danser?

faith enfireBRONZE Member
wandering thru the woods of WI
3,556 posts

Posted:
spin slowly
work on planes
i found bth easier the btb
i am no help with btb because i can just butterfly btb

Faith
Nay, whatever comes one hour was sunlit and the most high gods may not make boast of any better thing than to have watched that hour as it passed

zamiriiBRONZE Member
44 posts

Posted:
I'm just learning myself... i have noticed that the wrist position and where my fingers are pointed are keys just like with the butterfly in front.

and i tend to usually clip myself in the head or umm elsewhere when trying

Every Day I add another name to the list of people who piss me off

MuskelungeGOLD Member
55 posts

Posted:
Pay attention to the trajectories of the poi where you can see them. Notice if they're getting out of their planes, or if they're tilting toward your body. Then you can fix them.

The Guide is definitive. Reality is frequently inaccurate.

JonnyRokBRONZE Member
Look! I'm Darth Bunny!
446 posts

Posted:
Just to learn, try doing a bth butterfly from a forward butterfly and a btb from a reverse, its generally a little easier to learn this way coz u dont have to twist your wrists all funny smile

Do what you want coz a pirate is free,
You are a pirate!
Yo ho fiddle dee dee, being a pirate is alright to be,
Do what you want coz a pirate is free,
You are a pirate!

pikachuSILVER Member
11 posts

Posted:
I have just got my poi in the mail and started to practice. I find I can spin from butterfly and put my right poi over my head but when it comes to my left one it just messes up and hits me or gets tangled.

I guess it's because I'm right handed.