Forums > Social Chat > The problem with girls...

Login/Join to Participate

NYCNYC
9,232 posts

Posted:
I've asked this question in a few friend groups and thought I'd post it here. I'm a chemistry teacher and often notice that many of my teenage girls are in a very vulnerable time in their lives of course... Some of them are in abusive relationships or so insecure it breaks my heart.

I know that guys have thier problems too but I'm often much better at understanding them since I've been one back in the day. It's a bit of a pardox being a male role model. If I am constantly supportive then it falls back into the role of them seeking male approval (me) which is exactly what I'm trying to ween them from.

How can an adult male teacher be a positive INFUENCE for adolecent teensage girls?
{This sentence was edited to remove the term "role model" becuase it's not what I meant. I know I can't be a role model on all levels for girls... )

I'd love to hear from ex-teenage girls about who infulenced them and how... and even what things caused them grief and further insecurities from teachers. It's a tough position for me to be in. Some of them come to me for advice and such and I'm sure I say the right things but I'd love some further perspective.

[ 18. January 2003, 13:03: Message edited by: NYC ]

Well, shall we go?
Yes, let's go.
[They do not move.]

Pele'sWhippingBoymember
442 posts

Posted:
"Would you like some candy little girl?"
"How would you like some extra credit? "

j/k

You may want to speak with a counselor. Not about a specific student, but in general. That way you can use an official method. Sometimes in the position you're in if you try something and it fails liabilities and all that. But if you use "school policy" it may help.
Just my thoughts.

It's great that you're concerned. But you're right, a male may not be in a position to aid them. Good luck.

FYI: I am not Pele. If you wish to reply to me and use a short version of my name, use: PWB.