Forums > Help! > i need ideas for an escape

Login/Join to Participate

pineapple peteSILVER Member
water based
5,125 posts

Posted:
hey everyone.

as some of you know, apart from twirling im an escape artist, and im trying to think up a new act.

this new act has to be easily transportable (ie, no large rigging or big water tanks)

at the moment i have two straight jackets, two pairs of cuffs, two pairs of foot shackles, which i can get out of easily enough.

so yeh, any ideas of restraint that you have, let em fly...

cheers, pete hug kiss

"you know there are no trophys for doing silly things in real life yeah pete?" said ant "you wont get a 'listened to ride of the valkyries all the way to vietnam' trophy"

*proud owner of the very cute fire_spinning_angel, birgit and neon shaolin*

PeleBRONZE Member
the henna lady
6,193 posts

Posted:
Me too Pete.

Perhaps it shouldn't be what you do, but how.
For example, my friend Harley Newman escapes from a straightjacket whilst riding a unicycle. It is highly amusing.

There are also ropes. Lets not forget the absolute joy of 100 ft of silk rope. It can be quite the challenge when wrapped and tied properly. These offer diversity too. You can be straight tied, prison tied, hog tied, etc. And it opens the floor to craploads of jokes, more than I think even a straightjacket.
And if you have someone tie you to a chair, it takes longer.
Portable and fun, and honestly it can be quite challenging. Plus I think it gives ALOT more opportunity for audience interaction and real performance than the larger acts.

Think some of the earlier Houdini acts. At that time he was more about the showmanship and the challenge of simple objects rather than the grandiose acts that are out today who seem to forget both real showmanship and true escapes in favor of illusions.

Pele
Higher, higher burning fire...making music like a choir
"Oooh look! A pub!" -exclaimed after recovering from a stupid fall