JarvizBRONZE Member
7 posts

Posted:
As a resident of Sweden I'm not unacustomed to cold weather but since I'm fairly new to fire staff I've never tried spinning it in the kind of cold weather we get here. In late december the temperature often drops below -20 degrees centigrade. I've tried to imagine what might be a problem, I'm guessing that it might be harder to start a flame and maintain it. Also, I have no idea how the fuel will behave at such a low temperature.

Does anyone else have any experience with this kind of extreme cold and fire twirling? All help is greatly appreciated.

Jarviz

T&BBRONZE Member
Me
607 posts

Posted:
The day we performed our frist fire show was the only day of snow we had in bristol last year. The main problem we had was lighting equitment takes ages and you need more heat then a standard lighter give off. Admittedly it was probably only about -2 but that's quite cold enough for me and recenly i've become even more wimpy and don't intend to light up this winter

Maybe I should change this too something abit nicer, humm no I still think your all Ccensoredt

ben-ja-menGOLD Member
just lost .... evil init
2,474 posts

Posted:
meg has a cool mini gas blow torch thingy u can get them from hardware stores apparently they get off a nice big blue flame at the click of a button and will get ur sticks a lit

Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us. We ask ourself, who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous and talented? Who are you NOT to be?

JarvizBRONZE Member
7 posts

Posted:
Hmm... Yeah, a good gas light might be required. I had another idea though, what about lighting the wicks indoors and taking them outside. I realise the dangers of fuel-heavy wicks being lit indoors but maybe if I did it in a garage or some place with a concrete floor?

Jarviz

SparkToFireGOLD Member
5 posts

Posted: