Page:
FoxFiremember
90 posts

Posted:
I have a few questions that I haven't been able to find answers to. They may seem trivial, but I'd really like to find out.Is there any difference in using, say, the blue-coloured ultra-pure lamp oil vs. clear (or even mixing them)?From what I've read about white spirit fuels, does Mineral Spirits burn the same/different as, say, Coleman fuel?Has anyone tried using something like isopropal or denatured alcohol for a fuel? I read somewhere that they could be used; although, they wouldn't give off much of a flame.The reason I ask is that a department store here is going out of business and having a sale. Having spent many days, now, reading up on fuels and fire safety, I'd really like to get things right since I am just beginning into using fire.(note to self: look at fire extenguishers when I go back to buy fuel.)------------------Deuteronomy 31:6John 15:9

Deuteronomy 31:6
John 15:9
Luke 6:22

adamricepoo-bah
1,015 posts

Posted:
Dulce--Lamp oil can be stubborn to light. Depending on the humidity, etc, it may take a while to get them lit from a candle, though it can be done. If you really want to get a fast light, mix in a little bit of white gas/Coleman fuel and they'll catch immediately.Fresh wicks are harder to get lit with lamp oil than ones that are broken in, and they also take longer to soak--but still not very long. For your first 10 burns or so, a 5-minute soaking should be more than adequate.

Laugh while you can, monkey-boy

theblackunicornmember
119 posts

Posted:
not a problem....and thank you for helping out with that...i didnt wnat to bring it up till i had some background and soild facts ya know? i apperciate it charles....jokker------------------'' not all who wander are lost'' J.R.R. Tolkien'' its better to burn out...then to fade away'' Def Leppard

its to dying in anothers arms and why i had to try it......

dulce flamesmember
234 posts

Posted: