Reviews on The Scales of Poi - Lessons

  • All Purchases made this month instantly go into the draw to win a USD $ 100.00 credit to your HoP account.
 
 Sales Assistant / 
Purchase The Scales of Poi - Lessons  
24th March, 2014
Love it!
"Great DVD especially if you've focused more on ascending the trick ladder with poi. The DVD is a great way to help yourself really start exploring poi in a way that learning tricks doesn't bring about. Definitely worth the purchase."
, USA  [Verified Buyer]
BRONZE Member since Oct 2012

Purchase The Scales of Poi - Lessons  
20th April, 2013
If you want to improve get this.
"For anyone wanting to take poi spinning to the next level this DVD gives great insight on how to improve and drill your spinning to become clean and effortless."
, USA  [Verified Buyer]
DIAMOND Member since Jan 2011

Purchase The Scales of Poi - Lessons  
7th July, 2012
Excellent poi DVD
"Buy it it's good."
, Norway  [Verified Buyer]
GOLD Member since Aug 2009

Purchase The Scales of Poi - Lessons  
28th September, 2011
Pyre Tails
"This is not a video full of individual tricks or combination's of moves spelled out in slow motion. If that is what you seek look at the encyclo-poi-dia series. this is true exercise of planes and plane control and variations Body positioning general health and as an experienced poi spinner i found most of the information presented to be extremely useful. the exercises i learned here have already become an integral part of my daily routine"
, USA  [Verified Buyer]
SILVER Member since Oct 2009

Purchase The Scales of Poi - Lessons  
11th September, 2011
The Scales of Poi dvd
"this Dvd has helped me so much its an amazing dvd with so many helpful tips to help you learn moves that seemed almost impossible without proper teaching methods. Nick Woolsey is an inspiring teacher many thanks to HoP for having this dvd available to purchase i learnt new moves within hours of delivery :-D"
, Australia  [Verified Buyer]
BRONZE Member since Sep 2011

Purchase The Scales of Poi - Lessons  
15th July, 2011
Missing it dearly
"Recently my house was broken into and I got robbed clean. Among the many things stolen were my collection of Poi Dvds. Most of the items taken i didnt care too much about. the one thing that hurt me was seeing my special dvd collection wiped out. I know they grabbed em cause it was next to the video games (tv surround sound ps3 xbox wii and like 50 games 200 movies and a crap load more stuff was lifted out of my own house...) I know these dvds were discarded almost immediately by the theives. (I found tossed discs down the road the next day tossed out of a car but none were saveable. But this DVD was the most valuable tool ive ever had when it came to poi. Instead of teaching tricks and tech it teaches how to flow open up dance and evolve. This is a MUST OWN dvd for any poi spinner serious taking their flow to the next level. As i said before i miss it dearly. i would give this DVD 6 outta 5 stars. Thats right . . a 6."
, USA  [Verified Buyer]
GOLD Member since Jun 2007

Purchase The Scales of Poi - Lessons  
26th May, 2011
Wonderful!
"Very nice DVD and well worth the investment! Gives a better insight into the intermediate/advanced moves and backs it up with all the necessary theory!"
, Australia  [Verified Buyer]
BRONZE Member since Apr 2011

Purchase The Scales of Poi - Lessons  
31st March, 2011
tumbs up !!!!!
"I learned a lot about moving my body while spinning. I feel more free when poi spinning!!"
, USA  [Verified Buyer]
SILVER Member since Mar 2011

Purchase The Scales of Poi - Lessons  
27th February, 2011
Scales of Poi: One of the best instructional DVDs I own
"I've purchased many instructional DVDs over the years as supplements for on-hand instruction. I'm a belly dancer before a poi spinner but I got into poi spinning as a way to enhance my dance work and it kind of sucked me in. Often instructional DVDs brush things over skimming the surface as a way to promote a style of dance or art. But this one was refreshingly thorough. Nick does a lovely job explaining not only the basics of poi as an art form but breaks down the exploration of this movement in a very thorough way that provides the viewer with a solid routine of exercises and practices that will not only genuinely increase range of movement but opens a whole new door of creativity for the student. Everyone from beginners to seasoned professionals can I believe learn something from this DVD. Just drop the cash and get it. You will not be disappointed and your spinning art will only grow from here."
, USA  [Verified Buyer]
SILVER Member since Jan 2011

Purchase The Scales of Poi - Lessons  
23rd December, 2010
sweeeet
"great technique and warm up advice as well as some good pointers"
, USA  [Verified Buyer]
PLATINUM Member since Oct 2008

Purchase The Scales of Poi - Lessons  
9th December, 2010
Love Nick Woosley
"Nick is quite the wonderful character. The angles in this video capture the orbitals perfectly so you can get your planes right. It's all about letting it flow!"
, USA  [Verified Buyer]
BRONZE Member since Feb 2010

Purchase The Scales of Poi - Lessons  
6th December, 2010
Awesomeness!
"This is such a great dvd no matter what level you are at. Lots of good information and a true understanding of movement with poi."
, USA  [Verified Buyer]
SILVER Member since Dec 2008

Purchase The Scales of Poi - Lessons  
2nd October, 2010
Insightful and definitely inspiring
"I love the systematic breakdown of moves. It is like engineering the poi and I enjoyed a lot of shared understandings and discoveries along the way of poi. I watched it with a pen and since then I always carry the jotted notes for practice. I can tell the changes and improvements in my moves it is very effective and I love certain shortcuts taught inside. Although it is tailored for intermediate-adanced players I believe it would be more helpful to beginners as they don't have to go through the conventional learning path which is actually longer time consuming and narrow. Great lessons."
, Singapore  [Verified Buyer]
SILVER Member since Aug 2010

Purchase The Scales of Poi - Lessons  
2nd September, 2010
Excellent DVD
"Informative and easy to follow."
, USA  [Verified Buyer]
GOLD Member since Jun 2010

Purchase The Scales of Poi - Lessons  
14th August, 2010
Great instruction
"This is the best instructional DVD for spinners Ive seen. The approach is likened to music and musical scales. In order to freely flow in either poi or music you need the basics. These are the basics of poi."
, USA  [Verified Buyer]
SILVER Member since Sep 2009

Purchase The Scales of Poi - Lessons  
3rd June, 2010
Must Have DVD
"I thought that i knew my basic's. especially since i have been doing corporate shows for a while now! But this DVD took me back to the Basics and it has improved my POI Spinning EXPONENTIALLY ! I recommend this DVD to EVERYBODY! From beginner to advanced!"
, South Africa  [Verified Buyer]
GOLD Member since Apr 2010

Purchase The Scales of Poi - Lessons  
25th November, 2009
The essential beginner DVD!!!
"I consider this DVD the best at going over the fundamental building blocks of poi. The skills taught here are the basics of spinning theory in the truest sense and beginners can benefit and excel from this learning style and approach. It has helped me a great deal not only applying the lessons to controlling my poi and correcting mistakes but has aided learning the basic poi moves and has helped me increase my agility mobility creative flow and expressive movement. The lessons focus on understanding plane control and increasing freedom of motion which aid a great deal in liberating a beginner(like myself) from the restrictions a lack of understanding in poi theory and rules of momentum can cause. This is a great place to start and I advise using this DVD even before Art Of Poi to truly get the most out of learning poi tricks and to have very clean and fluid transitions between them. Such a worthwhile investment that I use in my practice sessions frequently."
, USA  [Verified Buyer]
GOLD Member since Sep 2009

Purchase The Scales of Poi - Lessons  
23rd November, 2009
Good for learning your planes
"This dvd isnt going to teach you tricks but will teach you to improve your control and planes which in turn will help you learn new/improve your existing tricks :)"
, Australia  [Verified Buyer]
GOLD Member since Feb 2009

Purchase The Scales of Poi - Lessons  
19th October, 2009
Great!
"This DVD is great! Its a wonderfull extra to all other DVD with explain tricks with poi. This one is to improve your playing as a whole."
, Germany  [Verified Buyer]
BRONZE Member since Sep 2009

Purchase The Scales of Poi - Lessons  
28th July, 2009
phenominal
"this dvd is phenominal! the way in which nick explains his concepts and ideas is extraordinary! i now have such a broader perspective on how to be freed from all sorts of complications which i was not really aware of before. this is definately a must have part of any poi dvd collection!!"
, South Africa  [Verified Buyer]
SILVER Member since May 2009

Purchase The Scales of Poi - Lessons  
10th July, 2009
Best Starting point in your Poi adventure.
"This DVD in my opinion is the best place to start learning about poi. Nick gives a very basic yet complete look into poi movement and awareness. Great for the beginner and advanced alike. I still see new things when watching."
, USA  [Verified Buyer]
GOLD Member since Aug 2006

Purchase The Scales of Poi - Lessons  
7th June, 2009
Great DVD
"I met Nick in 2006 in Germany at a Convention and and he teached us in a workshop the lessons you will find at these great poi DVD. You can watch it again and again and always you will learn a little bit more about poi. Thanks to Nick and HOP"
, Germany  [Verified Buyer]
GOLD Member since Apr 2005

Purchase The Scales of Poi - Lessons  
13th March, 2009
Perfect for beginers to advanced
"The scales of poi is amazing. This DVD helped me in more ways than one. It shows great drills and ways to practice spinning poi. Nick Woolsey breaks down the art of spinning in an easy to understand way. If you just started spinning or if you've been spinning for years the scales of poi can help you to achieve that perfect circle. I would recommend this to anyone."
, USA  [Verified Buyer]
GOLD Member since Feb 2009

Purchase The Scales of Poi - Lessons  
8th March, 2009
Drill the basics
"I normally don't write reviews...but I wanted to for this dvd. As a beginner this dvd is essential. I want to learn how to DANCE with my poi not just stand and do tricks. The Scales of Poi breaks it down into building blocks of moves and planes that need to be drilled and mastered. These drills will give you greater awareness and control over the poi ultimately giving you the freedom to move and dance. It's like learning to crawl before you walk. This dvd is gold!"
, USA  [Verified Buyer]
BRONZE Member since Feb 2009

Purchase The Scales of Poi - Lessons  
30th January, 2009
video
"enjoying this very much and very helpful"
, USA  [Verified Buyer]
GOLD Member since Dec 2008

Purchase The Scales of Poi - Lessons  
26th January, 2009
excellent
"a really good set of skills that will improve your spinning regardless of whether youv spun for 5 minutes or 5 years!"
, United Kingdom  [Verified Buyer]
GOLD Member since Mar 2007

Purchase The Scales of Poi - Lessons  
7th January, 2009
Wonderful DVD!
"I really like this dvd. It doesn't teach you specific moves if that's what you're looking for. This DVD focuses on practice montages perfection of planes and movement of dance. It gives you all the information you need to gain the skills so you can incorparate any move you want into your performance without really thinkning about it. It's a don't think just dance theme and it's great!"
, USA  [Verified Buyer]
SILVER Member since Dec 2007

Purchase The Scales of Poi - Lessons  
16th October, 2008
Brilliant
"Its as great as expected Ive always admired nicks style and this learnig dvd has a lot to teach. Good thing is it starts with health safery during training. Not for beginners."
, Czech. Republic  [Verified Buyer]
GOLD Member since Aug 2005

Purchase The Scales of Poi - Lessons  
14th October, 2008
informative
"as the title suggests its the scales of poi. verry happy with this dvd."
, Canada  [Verified Buyer]
SILVER Member since Dec 2006

Purchase The Scales of Poi - Lessons  
3rd October, 2008
Great Tutorial!
"I watched the whole dvd through once so far. It is very thorough definitely covers many basics including warmup stretching and self-care. I can't wait to practice again! Thanks Home of Poi you are a top-notch company. I did some on-line comparison shopping before my 2nd order and no-one offered what you do at the prices you charge. Customer service has been great so far too. Love the referral stickers and business cards that come with my orders!"
, USA  [Verified Buyer]
SILVER Member since Aug 2008