Forums > Beginner Poi Moves > Change spin direction - help

Login/Join to Participate

Brian JSILVER Member
2 posts

Posted:
I'm relatively new to spinning poi, and there's something I am working on in my progress. It's for a performance concept I am working towards. Here's what I want to be able to do:

Smoothly and quickly change spin direction from reverse to forward spin.

I want to be able to be doing forward weaves, turn my body 180 degrees so that I am facing the opposite direction, and then transition into doing forward weaves again. I can do this comfortably now, but when I change direction, I my poi are reverse spinning. I need to shift that to forward again.

What moves help to transition spin direction?

Ideas? Does that make any sense?

ABOBer92SILVER Member
ABOB - Pois'n'us
178 posts

Posted:
pendulums, stalls or throws or the quickest method. changing planes can also work but it may take a bit longer and my not go fit into a routine.

stalls are quickest and can be done without people noticing, but getting the timing/accuracy right may take some practice. pendulums are a little easier but may slow the routine down a bit, though most like the look of them -ive seen acts that have 2/3s of the routine using pendulums in different ways. throws are most difficult as your accuracy and timing needs to be perfect to be able to make the transition look smooth but with practice it can be a great way to impress people -especially on fire and/or when you make a flourish with your hand to show its been thrown.

note: pendulum can be seen as a slow stall and the changing direction when catching a throw is basically a stall too

changing planes, like in a 3d flower, can be useful to learn. look at how most beginners get from wheel plane to butterfly, see how few beats you can do to do the same thing. when you add antispin, stalls, pendulums, etc., it becomes second nature eventually to be able to transition skillfully between nearly any move