Page:
twigSILVER Member
44 posts

Posted:
I have been doing this for 11 months now, and in that time realistically ive probably done a about 100-150 hours of practice (not a lot i know) but I realised I only know about a dozen moves, most of which are pretty basic.

How long does it take to get 'good'... how long do you practice for?

Also, how do you go about learning things like flowers and stall chasers? I have no idea where to even begin!

beaniebobGOLD Member
casually noob tech poi spinrar
155 posts

Posted:
Getting 'good' takes vastly different amounts of time for different people, because it's entirely subjective, and up to each individual. Peeps might have a different idea of what qualifies as good, and peeps might learn things at different rates. Also, how do you judge this sort of thing?

Most of the people I know who I view as 'good' put so many hours of practice into what they do that their lives almost revolve around it. For me, saying someone is good equates to them being mind-breakingly awesome, because it's a stupid and impossible proposition imo to try judging and categorising spinners by ability.

As for your other question, the best way would be to find someone local to spin with who already knows these things and (preferably) is also good at teaching them. If there aren't any local spinners, then you could probably find some baller teachers at a spinning/fire festival (use duh google-fu!), and failing even that, youtube is your friend.

"If all else fails, immortality can always be assured by spectacular error."

ABOBer92SILVER Member
ABOB - Pois'n'us
178 posts

Posted: