Forums > Social Chat > Completely new to POI here, some questions!

Login/Join to Participate

shibiscuitBRONZE Member
1 post

Posted:
Hey there, I'm completely new to POI and everything. I have to give a talent performance in about two months and was wondering what kind of Glow POI I should buy. My goal is to learn enough beginner moves to show off in two months!

Anyone able to point me in the right direction? I was thinking of buying two Flowlights and getting the crystal cases + cords, is there something better for a beginner like me?

Thanks!

Trybal WolfSILVER Member
Wolf Furry
517 posts

Posted:
Hello Shibiscuit! Love your name!

Welcome to HOP, and more importantly, to the Flow Arts. You should be able to easily learn enough to impress most non-flow artists in two months. I find the video tutorials on Playpoi to be very helpful and to explain things in a very clear, logical, and concise way. Please introduce yourself to us in the Introductions Forum, we'd love to get to know you!

Now regarding LED poi, I would not purchase the Flowlights and cords. They are good poi, but are not necessarily the best option for you IMHO. I would purchase Podpoi , (also made by Flowtoys ). These are a much better option, and I will explain why.

First off, cost:
If you were to buy the crystal poi, you would also need to purchase rechargeable AAA batteries and a charger for them. The total for all of this would come to be $81+shipping. If you buy the pod poi, USB charging cables are included, and the batteries are fully contained in the capsule light. Podpoi are $99+shipping.