levelmember
6 posts

Posted:
Hello everybody. Let me preface this post with the following. I have no experience handling and a little knowledge of the construction of fire toys. I am planning to build a breakdown fire staff for a lady friend who has been spinning for at least 5 years and as far as I am concerned is very proficient in it. I am well aware that these staves are readily available for sale online but it would be a lot more special being hand made. I have a pretty solid idea of the basic construction of a staff based on talking to her and web research. As for the breakdown aspect I have a solid design in mind involving custom turned fittings off the lathe. My concern is the weight. From what I have found online, most commercial staves appear to be in the 2-3 lb range. As best I can tell from pictures of her spinning her staff looks like it is 5'. The staff I am planing is the following:

5' Overall length (able to break down to 13"ish and smaller bits for the wicks)
Aluminum tubing - 1.05" outside diameter without and grip tape
2" wide wicks (I have 10' of 1/8" thick flat wick in hand)
and if my math is correct an overall weight of around 5 lbs

I know that type of spinning (contact or not) influences ideal weight and I would imagine that weights are more personal preference than anything but does this sound like it would be too heavy? I don't think she does a much if any contact and I haven't seen her spin staff in a long time so I really can't speak much for the style. The other thing that I keep thinking is that the extra weight (whether its a few ounces or pounds) has to been seen as a trade off for the portability. I would just ask her opinion but I was hoping to make it a surprise. Any advice would be much appreciated.

beaniebobGOLD Member
casually noob tech poi spinrar
155 posts

Posted: