Forums > Other Toys > help with making a meteor

Login/Join to Participate

DudgeBRONZE Member
stranger
2 posts

Posted:
hello, im new to this (or acctualy any) fourm. i have 2 years expriance playing poi and im making a cheap meteor with tennis balls and cord. im just curious how long will be best to make the cord. normally i just tie my two poi together but i just want to know if thats a good length or should it be longer? if you have any advice that will be cool. and i figure its a personal preferance but i just want to know where to star.

Sister ElevenGOLD Member
owner of the group property
1,277 posts

Posted:
The length I've seen most often is about as long as your arm span/your height. I don't know if this is traditional in any way, it's just what the meteor spinners I've met use. I have one I made about a foot too short, and it's really kind of awkward compared to longer ones I've used, so if that measurement seems too long, it probably isn't.

p|.q|r:|::s|.s|s:|:.s|q.|:p|s.|.p|s

SpinnerofDetroitGOLD Member
All High Dude, Ruler of What You Want
2,280 posts

Posted:
Idk why, but this just made me think of how to make a better meteor for myself. I forgot I have 2 pro series balls from HoP that I never use laugh3 as well a s 12ft of Colecord so let the fun begin! And I didn't know the length either I have to try this smile

The only luck is bad luck.

Shut up before I stall my poi up your ass grin

DudgeBRONZE Member
stranger
2 posts

Posted:
well thanks for the tips. i am just testing differnt lengths. i found the longer the better but it makes a cork scew imposible with my length.

RuckusSILVER Member
stranger
2 posts

Posted:
I just started with meteor about two months ago, but I'm also a designer, so I've been through several prototypes. Here's what I have settled on, and am currently practicing with daily:
Length - equal to your wingspan, thumbtip to thumbtip, seems to be optimal.