Forums > Social Chat > favorite place to practice?

Login/Join to Participate

oscurochuSILVER Member
stranger
12 posts

Posted:
I'm still quite new to poi. I have a back yard, and plenty of room to practice but I just can't get into the mood to just spin. I find myself getting frustrated so easily. Spinning at home is just not for me, which is where I came up with this question: What is your favorite place to spin?

I've spun at a drum circle, I've spun at a beach, I've spun on my grandpa's farm, I've spun walking down the road, and at friend's houses. Spinning is always fun for me, except for when I'm at home. I always enjoy walking places while spinning my poi

I have a park right up the road from my house I spin at sometimes. I'm usually there at night, no people, no distractions and an occassional car driving by; I have the whole park to myself. I can easily spin for 3-4 hours at the park, and not realize that time has passed. I haven't found a better place to spin than the park.

What's your favorite place to spin, and what makes this place so special?

Chris_Lu1DIAMOND Member
Flow Artist
67 posts

Posted:
I'm probably going to get some very weird reactions to mine.

My favorite place to spin is this Cemetery right next to where I live. It has a huge empty area that is always kept perfectly clean.

It is beautiful, there are no distractions, I feel like I have an audience of gentle souls watching me and reminding me how short life is and to enjoy it.

oscurochuSILVER Member
stranger
12 posts

Posted:
I would spin poi in a cemetary! The park is just a lot more convenient for me to walk to.

Stnd54SILVER Member
42 posts

Posted:
I definitely agree that cemeteries are really peaceful places, but for me any open green space is my playground =)

Chloe'GOLD Member
enthusiast
324 posts

Posted:
I tend to prefer the beach at night. There's something about the water that always relaxes me and adding poi to that makes it at least twice as good.