Forums > Help! > How do you know when to start with fire?

Login/Join to Participate

Patiencepiestranger
3 posts

Posted:
Newbie here, iv been playing poi for about 4 years. Taught by an ex boyfriend who is no longer around to teach and help me move into fire. There are no classes or groups that are closer than 3 hours (that's one way) from where I live.
So without a teacher or school, how do I know when I'm ready and do I need to go out of town to find a teacher? Is it "unethical" or "uncool" and so forth to learn fire on your own?
I know most tattoo artists detest when people buy ink and guns online and start up tattooing without having been through an apprenticeship. It's generally looked down upon, even though some people do it anyway. Is playing fire like that? I am sure some people go online and buy fire tools and teach themselves but is that looked down upon by teachers or the fire playing community in general? Or is that pretty normal and lots of people do it? I'm not a kid who just picked this up without awareness or consideration of the safety issues. That's why I am asking. Obviously, finding a teacher would be BEST but if I can't, do I just accept I will never do fire as
long as I live in the boonies? Or can I read up, consider all the medical and fire safety issues and so forth and eventually, teach my self?
Is it the kind of thing where you wait for your teacher to tell you when your ready, or do you just feel like you know when your ready? I see lots of videos on utube of people who do a few moves and they are playing fire already, so if Im real efficient with several moves, does that mean I'm ready? If i have to "ask" does that mean I'm not ready?...getting goofy here! .ok, you get the picture! I'm all my me self, I have no one to ask but you all! Thanks for any insight! And I'm sure this questions been talked about somewhere here so if there's an article or discussion of this topic, please guide me to it! Thanks bunches!