Flipstranger
5 posts

Posted:
OK, so I am new to Poi and the forums. I have wanted to learn Poi for years and yet it seamed so unattainable. A few weeks ago I was at a L.A.R.P. where we had a few spinners come out to do a show. I was able to speak with one of the guys and he was gracious enough to point me in the direction of this site, and its been uphill from there.

I have decided to make a kind of Journal on here where I can post the things Im practicing, failing and excelling at, and also for others to share or get pointers (by this I mean others learning from my mistakes or the tips others may provide me with). I have had a good bit of martial arts training which has slightly helped with a few of the moves such as the two beat wave, but not nearly as much as I had anticipated.

So here we go,

Week 1
I have worked steadily on low, high, tuck and carry turns as I see these as being the most important way to learn poi control and keeping my planes correct. At this point I can perform them all 90% of the time without issue.
I have been working on corkscrew, butterfly, buzzsaw, two beat turns and two beat turns in reverse.
Reverse two beat turns have turned out to be the most confusing maneuver. I had muscle memory built for forward ones already from Arnise so Ive had to completely break it down and until tonight was having an issue with my head being in the way of the poi. Tonight I was able to get 30-40 seconds in before I would catch my side or shoulder.
Buzzsaws seem to elude my grasp at this point, every time my left poi gets off plain and instead of being this way | it goes this way \ causing a nice tangle and ending with not one but to poi into my groin this is a major problem because my wife and I would like a daughter...

Anyways, this has been my week in Poi. I will try to post in here regularly. I hope its OK to post this, I personally always enjoy seeing breakdowns of how others are progressing.

Thanks for reading,
Tony

Flipstranger
5 posts

Posted: