Forums > Social Discussion > Any FUEL EXPERTS out there? Need some advanced help.

Login/Join to Participate

ChronosHow is it that one careless match can start a forest fire, but it takes a whole box to start a campfire?
20 posts

Posted:
(((First off, I did a big search, not only on this website, but on others as well, for the answer to this question before deciding to ask myself (since I know how annoying it is to answer the same questions over and over). Having said that, if this question HAS been answered then I apologise tongue2 )))

I am a student Fire Knife dancer in Spain, being taught by a Cook Island Maori.

The Fire Knife dancers I have met tell me that they use a mixture lighter fluid and PETROL as their fuel, or even just PETROL on its own. Every single website I go on tells me that this is the most dangerous fuel and should never ever (Ever!!!) be used.
The problem is that Fire Knife dancing requires a lot of touching the flames, transferring flames to your hand, igniting one wick with another with your tongue, burning your face off, cutting your arms off with the knife, and making big lines of flames in the floor.

Fire Knife Video

You can see in this vid the things we do, like the flames on the floor, transferring flames from one wick to the other to light and other stuff.

I will GLADLY use a different fuel if someone can tell me one that reacts in a similar way to petrol, but isn't as explosive. People have suggested Paraffin, and I have tried it a lot but it only seems to burn in a material and not on its own (which obviously makes it safe but not very good for my show). I basically need a fuel that will ignite very quickly and doesn't smoke too much (at all if possible). Also one that has less smell would be nice too.

I look forward to hearing from you guys!

EDITED_BY: Chronos (1338076359)

willworkforfoodjnrSILVER Member
Hunting robot foxes
1,046 posts

Posted: